Spotlight Friday (108)

Hello lovelies!  I’m sorry I missed the spotlight last week, but I was a little busy getting ready to graduate college.  But now I’m back!  🙂  And I have some good (and very diverse) books to tell you about!

Gasp (Visions, #3) by Lisa McMann

Release Date: June 3, 2014

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

Summary (from Goodreads):

After narrowly surviving two harrowing tragedies, Jules now fully understands the importance of the visions that she and people around her are experiencing. She’s convinced that if the visions passed from her to Sawyer after she saved him, then they must now have passed from Sawyer to one of the people he saved.

That means it’s up to Jules to figure out which of the school shooting survivors is now suffering from visions of another crisis. And once she realizes who it is, she has to convince that survivor that this isn’t all crazy—that the images are of something real. Something imminent.

As the danger escalates more than ever before in the conclusion to the Visions series, Jules wonders if she’ll finally find out why and how this is happening—before it’s too late to prevent disaster.

What’s To Like: There’s something about this series that I just like.  I think part of it is that the books are just small little things, but they’re packed with action and suspense. That makes for a quick yet exciting read, which is always fun.  I’m really excited to see where this book takes us, because all we have to go on here is a gasp, unlike the last two (Bang and Crash).

My review of Gasp

Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern

Release Date: June 3, 2014

Summary (from Goodreads):

John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars meets Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park in this beautifully written, incredibly honest, and emotionally poignant novel. Cammie McGovern’s insightful young adult debut is a heartfelt and heartbreaking story about how we can all feel lost until we find someone who loves us because of our faults, not in spite of them.

Born with cerebral palsy, Amy can’t walk without a walker, talk without a voice box, or even fully control her facial expressions. Plagued by obsessive-compulsive disorder, Matthew is consumed with repeated thoughts, neurotic rituals, and crippling fear. Both in desperate need of someone to help them reach out to the world, Amy and Matthew are more alike than either ever realized.

When Amy decides to hire student aides to help her in her senior year at Coral Hills High School, these two teens are thrust into each other’s lives. As they begin to spend time with each other, what started as a blossoming friendship eventually grows into something neither expected.

What’s To Like: The reason I’m drawn to this has less to do with the whole John Green-Rainbow Rowell thing it says at the beginning and more to do with how little I actually know about these disorders.  I want to get to know Amy and Matthew because I think, in part, this story will show me how they think and the struggles they go through on a daily basis.  I like getting into the minds of characters who are different from me, and I think this one is going to be good for that as well as being incredibly honest.

My review of Say What You Will

My Faire Lady by Laura Wettersten

Release Date: June 3, 2014

Summary (from Goodreads):

Rowena Duncan is a thoroughly modern girl with big plans for her summer—until she catches her boyfriend making out with another girl. Heartbroken, she applies to an out-of-town job posting and finds herself somewhere she never expected: the Renaissance Faire.

As a face-painter doubling as a serving wench, Ro is thrown headfirst into a vibrant community of artists and performers. She feels like a fish out of water until Will, a quick-witted whip cracker, takes her under his wing. Then there’s Christian, a blue-eyed stunt jouster who makes Ro weak in the knees. Soon, it’s not just her gown that’s tripping her up.

Trading in the internet and electricity for stars and campfires was supposed to make life simpler, but Ro is finding that love is the ultimate complication. Can she let the past make way for her future?

What’s To Like: I am the kind of girl who would probably love working at a place like this.  I have been to a Ren Faire, once, but it was small and all indoors.  So I’m really interested to see this version of the Faire.  And I kind of want to get to know this Will because I want to see how quick-witted he is.  (Those are my favorite guys.)

My review of My Faire Lady

Leave a Reply

