Hero (Woodcutter Sisters, #2)

First Lines: Saturday died for the fifth time that morning.  Her shallow breath gently stirred the dust of the practice field.

Some of my recent fairy tale reads have gotten me in the mood for more fairy tale reads.  So I picked this up when I was last at the library.

Tomboyish Saturday thinks she’s the only one of her sisters without magic until she accidentally brings the ocean to their backyard.  Saturday knows it’s her fault and she’ll do anything to fix it.  She takes off on a pirate ship with her sword in tow, only to be kidnapped from the ship and taken to the top of the world.  Is Saturday strong enough to escape from the mountain and save the world from sure destruction?

This ended up being interesting–but not for good reasons.  After the first book, I really thought this would be my favorite.  I loved Saturday’s snark as sassy attitude.  But this just felt…weird.  The tagline on the book says, “Does romance have to be part of the adventure?”  …Even though “romance” is technically part of the story as it is written, I’m still waiting for it.

Let me explain.  I’ve read some books where the romance part seems to move maybe too quickly to be realistic when you plot out the timeline.  Fine.  But I bought them.  I felt the chemistry between the characters.  Here, I didn’t get that at all.  It was like one moment they were still trying to figure the other one out and then hey, I love you.  Um…what?  It felt forced and faked to me, and I just couldn’t get into the story after that.  I just wanted it to be over so I could read something with a good romance in it.

I still liked Saturday, but it felt like the other characters, the ones not part of her family, were lacking.  There wasn’t much to them.  If you have to explain why a character is doing something, what their motive is for doing it, then you may want to rethink how you’ve written that character.  You shouldn’t have to explain it that much if you’ve created the character well.

Peregrine, the main guy in the story, is a weird creature.  Apparently, I missed something as I was reading it because I spent 60 pages trying to figure out if he was really a guy.  So…that probably at least partially played into the “chemistry” between him and Saturday.  (In my defense, he wears skirts and has long hair and a character calls him “she”.  Didn’t paint the most masculine picture in my head and totally threw me off my game.)

I think what I actually appreciated most was the broader scope of the story.  I liked how it weaved in numerous fairy tales into one story.  I liked seeing the Woodcutter family more, even if we only see them for like, 5 chapters.  I just wasn’t that impressed on the close-up view of the story.

Overall, this story just didn’t do it for me.  It felt forced and didn’t read as well as I was hoping it would.

Leave a Reply

