Shadowspell (Faeriewalker, #2)

First Lines: Going on a date with a bodyguard hanging over your shoulder sucks.

When it comes to series, I’m great at starting them, but bad with the follow-through to finish them.  That’s why when I go to the main library in town, I try to go for the books in series I haven’t finished yet.  And that’s what this was.

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

Dana really didn’t think that life in Avalon would suck this much.  Her dad isn’t as attentive as she’d like, oh, and she’s forced to hide in an underground bunker with constant bodyguard presence because the Queens of Faerie want to kill her.  Life sucks.  But it gets even worse when the Erlking and his Wild Hunt arrive in town.  An ancient yet weak deal with the Queens is the only thing that keeps the Erlking from hunting in Avalon.  Worse yet, the Erlking has taken an interest in Dana.  But is it because he wants to hunt her or something even worse?

I should be hired to write these blurbs because that one is golden.  (Ok, not really.  But I still like it.)

I’ll start by saying that this book had great set-up.  Impressively good.  What I mean by that is that it had just the right amount of information in the first few chapters to remind me of what happened in the last book.  Some books do it in an info-dump, but this was just woven into the story.  And we were gracefully taken into how Dana’s adjusting to life in Avalon.  I was impressed by how good the writing was here.  It went a long way to help keep me interested in the story.

I freaking love Dana’s spunk in this story and how she just cannot figure out when not to use it.  It makes the story so much fun.  I love strong, spunky heroines in my books, even though I get the impression I probably wouldn’t be good friends with them if I ever met them.  Still, I enjoyed it.  The spunk goes to a new level when you know Dana’s using it even though she has no idea what’s going on around her with all the Fae.  Courage mixed with stupidity.  Love it.

I will also say that there were a lot of great twists and turns in the story, word play being one of the strongest forms of plot twists.  I think in almost any book about Fae, this is the case.  Word play is sorta their thing.  But I really loved trying to read between the lines to see what they were saying and what they weren’t.

My one complaint was that the story got a little boring sometimes.  It got to the point where you knew a twist was coming, but you didn’t know quite what that twist was.  So you skim to find the twist, missing the details between.  I did a lot of accidental skimming as I read.  I didn’t even realize I was doing it at first until I noticed I was jumping to dialogue and skipping the descriptions.

Overall, though I thought this was fun.  It’s a nice twist on an old story.

One thought on “Shadowspell (Faeriewalker, #2)

Leave a Reply

