The A-Word (Sweet Dead Life, #2) BLOG TOUR


First Lines
: It took everything I had to convince my best friend Maggie to come to the football game.  Football is not Maggie’s thing.

Welcome to The A-Word Blog Tour!  I want to begin by saying a quick thank you to Soho Teen for asking me to be a part of this tour.

(Don’t worry about spoilers; I kept this one clean.)

It’s been almost a year now since Jenna’s brother, Casey, died and came back as her guardian angel.  Jenna’s fifteen now and learning to navigate high school and boys (something her brother detests).  But Casey’s starting to question what he’s still doing on Earth. Guarding Jenna’s fine–the girl’s a handful sometimes, but what sister isn’t?–but there has to be more to this angel thing than that, right?  Then comes Bo Shivers, a whiskey drinking angel who can be unpredictably crazy.  Bo knows that something big is coming, but he doesn’t know what.  Can the group figure it out before it’s too late?

I’ll start by saying that I liked this book more than The Sweet Dead Life.  I thought there were better character growth and development in this one.  And the action/dialogue was a smidgen better in this one too.

I really like that this story is an unconventional twist on what you think you already know about angel stories.  These angels aren’t pure, innocent beings, nor are they the tough-guy angels that fallen angels tend to be in stories.  They were normal people before they died, and they’re still pretty normal with a few quirks.  Bo, for example, drinks whiskey like it’s water.  Not exactly angelic material.  There’s something freeing in breaking the mold like this.  And something ironic, which is probably why I found it so funny.

I liked that nearly a year has gone by between the first and second book.  It gave the characters some time to grow away from an audience.  I mean, Jenna’s in high school now and that’s changed her a little.  And Casey’s had time to grow discontent with his lot in life.  If this book had taken place even a month after the last book, it wouldn’t be the same.  It wouldn’t feel as authentic.

There were points in the middle of the story where I felt like the pace had slowed down.  It was probably because I figured out the clues way before Jenna did, so I was just waiting for her to catch up.  It was a little frustrating on that front, but it wasn’t terrible.  She’s got great wit to lighten the mood whenever she feels like it.

Generally speaking, I liked this story a lot.  I’m really interested to know where it goes from here, because I can see so much happening after that ending.  I really want to know what happens next.

Leave a Reply

