Deadly Little Games (Touch, #3)

First Lines: When I close my eyes I can picture his mouth.  The way his top lip is slightly fuller than the bottom.  The chapped skin on his lower lip.  And how the corners of his mouth turn upward, even when he’s trying to look serious.

It has legitimately been 4 years since I read the 2nd book in this series.  Let me put than in perspective.  When I last touched this series, my biggest concerns were passing the AP Calc test and high school graduation.  (I just graduated college.)  When I last saw this series, the BP oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico was still huge news.  So it’s been a while here.

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

Camelia’s ability to see the future just by touching something is as much a curse as it is a gift.  For her boyfriend Ben, his similar ability is dangerous.  At least with Camelia, hers comes out only when she’s manipulating clay in her hands.  Before she fully knows her ability, a new danger arrives.  But this time, Camelia isn’t the target.  It’s Adam, Camelia’s friend and Ben’s enemy.  Camelia needs to decide if saving Adam is worth the tension with Ben, or if she can live with the consequences of doing nothing to help him.  Can she decide before it’s too late?

Surprisingly, given how long I was away from this series, I jumped back into it pretty quickly.  It wasn’t exactly crucial that I remember much beyond who the characters are.  There’s an all-new mystery to this book, which helped make it almost its own independent book rather than part of a series.

But I did find this book a bit predictable.  I ended up picking out the bad guy before the book was halfway through.  And it wasn’t because of clues given in the story.  It was because that character followed the typical pattern of bad guys in mystery stories.  Does that make sense?  It quickly became obvious to me who was the decoy baddie and who was the real one.

And the love triangle.  Just shoot me.  I mean, I realize that love triangles were hot when this was written, but I’ve never really been a fan of them.  (I’m only a fan when I’m rooting for the underdog man.)  What sucked was that I really didn’t care for either guy.  Both boys had so many flaws that I didn’t really see anything redeeming in either one.  I wanted Camelia to run for the hills.

I mean, I thought the way the mystery was presented was really cool.  Puzzles?  I love puzzles.  That was fun.  But otherwise, there wasn’t a whole lot here that held my interest.

Leave a Reply

