Reached (Matched, #3)

First Lines: Every morning, the sun comes up and turns the earth red, and I think: This could be the day when everything changes.  Maybe today the Society will fall.  Then night comes again and we’re all still waiting.

This was another incident of “Hey, I really need to finish this series.  It may have been years since I read the others, but I’ll finish it now.”  Because I have a love-hate relationship with these numbers, it’s been 3.5 years since I read Matched.  I’m just lucky I still remember the basic plot of Crossed.

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

It’s time for the Rising to make their move, or so Cassia, Ky, and Xander think.  All three are currently working for the Rising in three different cities in the Society.  They haven’t seen each other in months, and their hope of the Rising ever doing anything is dwindling.  Until finally, the Rising makes a move.  Can the three stay alive and find each other in the chaos?

So obviously, with it being so long since I read the earlier books in the series, I was a bit lost during the story.  I forgot who some characters were that I was supposed to know, like Indie.  I just barely remembered her name, let alone who she was.  And I know this blame falls on me, so I can’t punish the book for it.

However, I was really lost in the story as well because of the narration style.  I mean, it’s told from 3 different POVs that are constantly switching.  As soon as I got used to hearing from Cassia, it would switch to Ky.  It was a battle to stay on top of that.  Not to mention that there is so much going on with each of them, and I needed to keep all of that straight between characters.

I will say that I liked that this book started to shift from a dystopian tone to more of a sci-fi tone.  I enjoyed that, surprisingly.  (I normally prefer dystopias over sci-fi, but it all depends on the book.)

But again, that was nearly ruined because there was just so much going on in the story.  This monstrosity is just over 500 pages.  It’s just a lot to take in anyway.  And it really didn’t help that I wasn’t feeling emotionally invested in the story because it had been so long since I met Cassia and Ky and Xander.

I’m glad I’ve finished their story.  I’m glad I know what happened to them.  But this was just too much to handle at times.

Leave a Reply

