Unravel Me (Shatter Me, #2)

First Lines: The world might be sunny side up today.  The big ball of yellow might be spilling into the clouds, runny and yolky and blurring into the bluest sky, bright with cold hope and false promises about fond memories, real families, hearty breakfasts, stacks of pancakes drizzles in maple syrup sitting on a plate in a world that doesn’t exist anymore. Or maybe not.

This is a series that I haven’t thought about in a while.  I remembered liking the first book, but this series just never seemed to bombard me the way other series kept making waves.  So I forgot about it.  (Also, this cover is kind of weird.  I don’t really like that eye watching me.)

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

Juliette is a danger to those around her.  That hasn’t changed, even though she’s now staying in Omega Point, a place for people like her who have “gifts”.  It’s also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.  But it doesn’t matter how useful Juliette is to the resistance as a weapon.  She just needs to touch someone to kill them.  All she wants is to finally feel normal.  She’s free of the Reestablishment and she’s free to love Adam…until she’s not.  And apparently, she’ll never be free of Warner either.

The first thing that I want to just nerd out over is the writing style.  It’s almost stream of consciousness, which is really rare for stories.  I’ve read some stories like this that come from the late 1800s, early 1900s in some of my Lit classes and let me tell you, none of them were this interesting or insightful.  (I feel like I need to insert a “Take that, writer of that Slate ‘Against YA’ article!”)

It’s a writing style that makes the emotions feel so much more immediate.  When Juliette is going through something tough, she might have an inner monologue that goes something like, “I can’t breathe I can’t breathe I can’t breathe.”  I spent the first half of the book feeling like there was an elephant on my chest.  My heart was just breaking for Juliette.  I wanted to do nothing more than give the girl a hug.  (So long as she was properly covered.  I’m not suicidal.)

I also really like Juliette.  She has an interesting way of seeing the world.  I mean, look at the first lines!  Comparing the sun to an egg and then going on about it in such a beautiful way?  She does this time and again with things like time, hope, and loneliness.  It is genius stuff.  She mixes and mashes senses together and personifies anything she feels like in a way that feels new and revolutionary.  I can’t get over how awesome that was.

On top of that, though, I seriously loved the character development in this story.  Every main character underwent some kind of change.  I’m not even kidding.  Every main character.  It was so cool to read.  But I also majored in English and find this fascinating.  Still, I liked watching them change and learning more about them.

But there was one thing I felt took away from the story.  The plot twists.  While they were interesting, there were a few major ones that I felt were done for cheap thrills rather than the story itself.  They just felt…misplaced.  And cliche.  They felt weird for this story, which is so unique in so many ways.  To have the plot be cliche was a little disappointing.

Overall, there is still so much about this book to like.  Don’t let my talk about the plot keep you from reading this.  There’s still so much to love, like the characters and Juliette’s voice in the story.

One thought on “Unravel Me (Shatter Me, #2)

  1. I really enjoyed this series but my favorite was definitely Ignite Me. I’m glad someone out there also enjoyed/appreciated the writing style. Great review!

Leave a Reply

