Truly, Madly, Deadly

First Lines: “Thank you for coming.”  The words rose and fell on the soft pile carpet, and Sawyer wondered whether she should brush the small ball of fuzz from Kevin’s earlobe.  It stuck there, stark and white against the dark navy blue of his suit.

So here’s the story behind my finding this book.  The last 2-3 trips I’ve taken to the library, I’ve seen this on the shelf, but I never grabbed it because I’d not heard of it before.  Finally, I just took it and decided that I wasn’t going to look at any online reviews or ratings before I read it.  This was going to be entirely what I thought of it, free of outside opinions.

Sawyer Dodd is a straight-A student, star track athlete, and girlfriend to the most popular boy in school, Kevin Anderson.  When Kevin dies in a car crash, Sawyer is in shock.  But it was just an accident, right?  That’s what Sawyer thinks until she opens her locker and finds a note that says, “You’re welcome.”  Someone knows that Kevin and Sawyer weren’t the perfect couple they pretended to be.  And that someone is now shadowing Sawyer’s every move…

It’s been a long time since I’ve read a mystery/thriller and it was really fun to come back to that.  I was constantly aware of how my heart was racing just enough to be noticeable.  Plus, I loved trying to figure out who the stalker was.  There are so many possible suspects and weeding through them was great fun.  I’ve missed that.

The pacing of the story is really quick, which was great for building suspense.  Something was nearly always happening in the story.  Like boom-boom-boom.  Which was so great after my last read, in which nothing ever seemed to happen.  Lovely change of pace.

The downside to the quick pacing was that I felt a lot of character development and normal story details were lost to keep the action up.  Which I understand to a degree, but I had a hard time connecting with Sawyer beyond a simple sympathy bond.  All that stuff in the description about her being a star athlete and a straight-A student really isn’t anywhere in the story.  Oh sure, it’s implied a couple of times, but it’s never clear that’s what she is.  I don’t really feel like I know her beyond that.  She’s the main female in a horror film.

And I’m a little iffy on when exactly the story is supposed to be set.  At least where I’m from, track season is in the spring, but this made it seem like it was set in the fall.  I can’t tell if that’s a mistake or sports seasons are different in different states.  So that bothered me a little.

The story was surprisingly funny at times.  I appreciated that that was in the story because it helped keep it from being too melodramatic and suspenseful.

Overall, I thought it was a thrilling, suspenseful read.  But just don’t look too close to the story.  This is more about the cheap thrill than the close reading.

Leave a Reply

