Top Ten Books About Music

You guys, I am seriously loving this new segment.  I love trying to come up with these lists.  But I’m also trying to do it so the same books don’t keep showing up over and over again on my lists.  (And this is only my 2nd one!)

The reason I decided that this one had to be about music is because music is such an important part of our lives.  If I had to save two things (excluding family and pets) from utter destruction, I would save books and music.  (And maybe a few movies…)  Music is so personal to each of us, but I imagine it’s a pain to write about.  How do you put those feelings, those sounds into words?  It’s part of why I admire these books so much.  So without further ado, here are my top ten books about music!

Take A Bow by Elizabeth Eulberg

I love that this book covers so many different aspects of music in one single book.  Set in a performing arts school, we get to see music from the perspective of a singer, a musician, and a composer.  How cool is that?  More than that, this book is about how music brings friends together and touches their lives.  You guys…Elizabeth Eulberg rocks it out of the park.  This was such a moving story.

Now and Forever by Susane Colasanti

This book was pretty spectacular too.  Ethan, the lead male, is a rising star in the music world.  This book follows his ascent into stardom, chronicling each step along the way.  Not only does this show us the usual aspects of music, like composing and concerts, but it shows the necessity of connecting to fans and how fame changes a person.  I loved that there were so many levels to this story.

This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

Here, music literally saves someone’s life.  I think a lot of us flippantly say, “Yeah, this song saved me/changed my life,” but it’s true here.  Using more rock/punk music, we see how Elise connects to music and uses it to discover her own passions.  This book is about so much more than music, but music is the key.  I really recommend this book, even though it’s sometimes a bit of a heavy read.

Strange Sweet Song by Adi Rule

This book is amaze-balls.  For real.  It’s a modern-day/gothic fairy tale that isn’t really based on any existing fairy tale I’ve ever heard of.  But that doesn’t stop it from being special.  As the title indicates, music is kinda a big deal in this book.  Sing, the main character, goes to school at a conservatory so she can grow as an opera singer.  Lots of classical music, lots of opera, lots of piano playing.  Even if that’s not what you normally listen to, this deserves a look.

Rival by Sara Bennett Wealer

As a choir geek in school, this book instantly grabbed my attention.  It’s about the rivalries that surround music.  (And trust me, there’s always one, whether it’s between kids in the group or groups you compete against.)  This follows two best friends who suddenly aren’t friends anymore but still have to work together to reach their dreams.  It’s not easy, but dreams usually aren’t dreams because they’re easy.

Sing Me To Sleep by Angela Morrison

It’s been four years since I read this book, and I swear I’ve never forgotten it.  It’s another choir story, but this time, it’s about a choir competition in Switzerland, like an international competition.  And this book will just destroy you from the inside out.  I mean that in the best way possible.  You know how people love The Fault in Our Stars even though it’s destroyed them?  THIS.  This is the same way.  Keep your tissues close, because this book will break your heart.

Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

I think this is one of those books that most people think of when they think of YA books about music.  It’s kind of a classic in that respect.  Nick and Norah meet spontaneously and then spend the night exploring NYC in search of their favorite band.  It’s a cute story.  (And if you’re thinking maybe the book isn’t for you, there’s a movie starring Kat Dennings and Michael Cera.)

This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen

I know, I know, this is a repeat from my last list!  (I picked a different cover at least!)  But how can you talk about books and music and leave this one off?  Remy’s dad wrote a one-hit wonder about her.  And there’s always Dexter, the cute boy in a band.  It’s kind of a garage band style, but there’s always that side of music too.  Just keep calm and HATE SPINNERBAIT!

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

This book as been on my brain for MONTHS.  I’m so flipping excited for the movie!  (More excited than I was for TFIOS!)  Anyway, this is a great pick for music because Mia, the main girl, is a cello player.  Her parents were part of a band, and her boyfriend Adam is in a band that is on the brink of becoming big.  Music is the thread that pulls this beautiful, heartbreaking story together.  My desire to reread this has just grown exponentially.

Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Ok, ok, you caught me.  This one isn’t about music as much as the others are.  And I really just wanted to throw another Matson novel into a list.  But music does play a part in this.  What could make a road trip better than playlists?  There are a bunch of them in this book, which I think is a Matson thing too, because she does it again in Since You’ve Been Gone.  Gorgeous story, once again pulled together by a steady soundtrack.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Books About Music

  1. I love how unique this list is! I’ve only read Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour and This Lullaby from the books you have here… I’ll definitely have to check out some of the other ones!

Leave a Reply

