Spotlight Friday (113)

Happy 4th of July, my fellow Americans!  (Oh my, I so did not mean to channel President Bush there…creepy.)  Anyway, since it is a holiday, I’m sure many of you are at the lake/beach/baseball games/cookouts having fun times rather than reading book posts by little ol’ me.  However, if you are reading this, I am delighted that you decided to spend the holiday with me!  Wanna be besties?

The Bridge From Me to You by Lisa Schroeder

Release Date: July 29, 2014

Summary (from Goodreads):

Lauren has a secret. Colby has a problem. But when they find each other, everything falls into place.

Lauren is the new girl in town with a dark secret. Colby is the football hero with a dream of something more. In alternating chapters, they come together, fall apart, and build something stronger than either of them thought possible–something to truly believe in.

What’s To Like: It’s not much of a secret that I’m a football girl.  I love watching the sport.  So I’m always drawn to stories with football.  I’m really interested to see these two together, and I like the alternating chapters idea with this book.  There’s nothing I’ve seen so far that says whether it’s in verse like Schroeder’s other books, but I’m going to assume that it is.  That also makes this an interesting find.  I want to see this play out.

Isla and the Happily Ever After (Anna and the French Kiss, #3) by Stephanie Perkins

Release Date: August 14, 2014

*Very mild potential spoilers in last paragraph of summary.  Really only spoils something if you no nothing about these books.*

Summary (from Goodreads):

From the glittering streets of Manhattan to the moonlit rooftops of Paris, falling in love is easy for hopeless dreamer Isla and introspective artist Josh. But as they begin their senior year in France, Isla and Josh are quickly forced to confront the heartbreaking reality that happily-ever-afters aren’t always forever.

Their romantic journey is skillfully intertwined with those of beloved couples Anna and Étienne and Lola and Cricket, whose paths are destined to collide in a sweeping finale certain to please fans old and new.

What’s To Like: I thought this day was never going to come.  I fell in love with Anna my freshman year of college, and I’ve just been waiting for this day for years.  I love happily ever afters, but I’m also realistic (to a degree).  So I want to see what happens with Isla and Josh.  And it looks like we’re back in France for this one, which is AWESOME.  Gotta breathe before I hyperventilate…

My review of Isla and the Happily Ever After

Sisters’ Fate (The Cahill Witch Chronicles, #3) by Jessica Spotswood

Release Date: August 14, 2014

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

Summary (from Goodreads):

A fever ravages New London, but with the Brotherhood sending suspected witches straight to the gallows, the Sisters are powerless against the disease. They can’t help without revealing their powers—as Cate learns when a potent display of magic turns her into the most wanted witch in all of New England.

To make matters worse, Cate has been erased from the memory of her beloved Finn. While she’s torn between protecting him from further attacks and encouraging him to fall for her all over again, she’s certain she can never forgive Maura’s betrayal. And now that Tess’s visions have taken a deadly turn, the prophecy that one Cahill sister will murder another looms ever closer to its fulfillment.

What’s To Like: The last book in this series broke my heart and stomped on the pieces.  So I feel a little wary about this one, but I’m still going to read it.  I want to know how it ends.  I can’t help but like stories of witches in a historical setting.  There’s so much history in that and I love thinking that maybe we did have ancestors who could do magic like this.

My review of Sisters’ Fate

2 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday (113)

  1. I think I read somewhere that The Bridge from Me to You has one perspective written in prose and the other in verse. I’m not usually crazy about verse novels, but alternating chapters in two different formats could be interesting 🙂

Leave a Reply

