Sweet Peril (The Sweet Trilogy, #2)

First Lines: Unbeknownst to the Roman community, 666 earthbound demons were making use of the infamous Colosseum.

Ok, so my friends, this has been on my bookshelf, staring me in the face, for over a year.  And I just read it.  I have to admit, I partly kept putting it off because the cover models gave me the creeps.  What is up with Anna’s face?  She looks like she’s going to roast me.  Like on a spit, not on Comedy Central.

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

Anna has realized her choices are more limited than she’d previously thought.  Before, she never would have corrupted souls for the Dukes.  Now, it’s corrupt souls or die.  And Anna will do whatever it takes to survive, even if it means building a party girl reputation that goes against her every instinct.  When a lost prophecy finally makes its way to Anna, she begins to hope that life won’t always be like this.  She travels the world with Kopano, looking for Nephilim that want to be a part of their movement.  But it quickly becomes clear that they won’t gain any new freedom without a fight.  Until then, Anna and Kaidan will have to work past their issues and temptations in order to save their lives.

Alright.  So it took me a few days to read this.  It was just a holiday weekend, after all.  But it was also really hard for me to get into.  See, it succumbed to the Sequel Slump big-time.  (For those unfamiliar with my terminology, the Sequel Slump is where a sequel has something big happen to the lovers where they just cannot be together for whatever contrived reason.)  I hate the Slump.  I understand that every love story should hit its rough spots (because that certainly happens in real life), but seriously?  Does it always have to be the 2nd book and the same basic plot every time?  Ugh.  Burn the Sequel Slump.

I will say, though, that I still like the characters.  It’s been a long time since I read the first book, but I did come to reconnect with the characters.  It took me a while with Anna, partly because I think she sometimes comes off as a goody-two-shoes, but I got there again.  And I really loved the new characters that were introduced in this story.  The characters alone are what will bring me back for the next book.

The plot…oy vey.  There isn’t anything overtly wrong with it, but it plays out a lot like an episode of Supernatural, season 5.  And let me tell you, Anna’s got nothing on Sam and Dean Winchester.  So it just kind of felt…old to me.  It wasn’t anything I hadn’t already heard before.  I wasn’t surprised by much, and felt suspense for even less.

I also realized that I wasn’t retaining the book very well in my memory.  Also a problem I had with the first book.  I don’t understand why.  I didn’t change anything about my reading habits, so I should theoretically remember as much about it as I do from any other book.  It worries me that I forgot so much of the story I just finished, though.  For whatever reason, this book is just kind of forgettable.  Maybe that goes back to the plot issue I had, or my problem connecting with Anna.  Whatever the reason, I have a feeling it’s going to be an issue remembering enough to get me through the 3rd book.

I know, I know, it sounds like I’m being rough on this series.  But this book just didn’t do it for me.  However, it did have a pretty awesome set-up for the next book, so I’ll be back for thirds.

One thought on “Sweet Peril (The Sweet Trilogy, #2)

Leave a Reply

