Rebel Belle (Rebel Belle, #1)

First Lines: Looking back, none of this would have happened if I’d brought lip gloss the night of the Homecoming Dance.

I am in love with Rachel Hawkins’s writing style.  Ever since I discovered Hex Hall on a library shelf, I’ve been smitten.  So when I was looking for something funny to read, this was an obvious choice.  I just knew it was going to be a riot.

Harper Price was born to be the Homecoming Queen.  She’s crazy popular and in charge of more organizations than she can count.  But one weird run-in with a janitor changes that.  Suddenly, Harper is a Paladin, a guardian with super strength and lethal fighting abilities.  The worst part?  Harper is guardian to school reporter David Stark, her sworn enemy.  Only, maybe David isn’t so bad, as Harper finds out.  And if Harper can’t save David, the world could very well be destroyed.  No pressure.

As I suspected, this book was a hoot.  And so easy to read.  I started the book and the next thing I knew, I was 150 pages in.  It was a super fast read, lots of fun, and with many explosive action scenes.

Harper was a really cool lead.  As a Southern belle, she was always poised and perfect.  When obstacles such as this Paladin mess came up, she dealt with it with grace and determination befitting a lady.  She was all grit and ribbons, swords and lace.  She was tough and driven while still being refined and cultured.  It was a nice contradiction that actually worked.

I thought the premise was incredibly interesting.  It has a lot of the Southern culture in it along with magic and mythology to go along with the Paladins.  Can anyone ask for a more fun combination?  And the best part was that it worked.  The whole book was intriguing.  There was never a dull moment.  The pacing was darn near perfect, always keeping it interesting in every way it could.

There were two minor issues that I had with the story though.  The first is probably just me being picky, but the symbols used in the story are overused in YA books.  If you read many fantasy/mythology stories, you know what I’m talking about.  Symbols are constantly used and reused in YA and I knew what this one was supposed to be and mean the moment it was introduced.  Sigh.  It gets old.  Can’t anyone invent a new symbol?

The second is a little more major.  I felt that the girls were being portrayed as airheads.  Even Harper, who is supposed to be a contender for class valedictorian.  The girls just seemed…like airheads.  I don’t know how else to put it.  Clearly, Harper is a smart girl, but her interactions with other girls (and boys) just made her seem incredibly vain and dumb.  Like the whole thing in the first lines about the lip gloss.  Maybe it bothers me because I’m not a girly-girl, but I could have used with stronger girls who weren’t afraid to be smart.

Overall, I was enchanted by this story.  I couldn’t put it down!  It was entertaining and exciting with a lot of action and wit and a dash of heart.  I can’t wait to see where this story goes next!

Leave a Reply

