If I Stay (If I Stay, #1)

First Lines: Everyone thinks it was because of the snow.  And in a way, I suppose that’s true.

I was simply astounded when I realized I didn’t have a review up for this book.  Then, when I looked back at my Goodreads records, I noticed it was because I first read this book back in 2008 and again in 2010, which was still a year before I created my blog.  So, in honor of the movie coming out Friday, I had to post a review about this after I reread it.

Mia never expected to be faced with the choices she’s currently facing.  Does she pick music, her first and truest love, or Adam, her boyfriend and the one who makes her the happiest she’s ever been?  But one February morning, everything changes.  Now, her old hard decisions don’t matter.  The only one that does is this: Will Mia stay or will she go?

This is one of those books I knew changed my life the moment I read it.  Even though it’s been six years, I still remember reading this the first time.  I cried hard.  Now, when I just reread it yesterday, I didn’t cry.  But I think that’s because I know the story and I knew how it was going to end.  However, I know the movie’s going to tear me to pieces.  The trailers make me cry, you guys.

I don’t envy Mia her situation in the slightest, but I admire her courage.  This is truly the hardest decision anyone could ever have to make (or at least the hardest decision I can ever fathom anyone could have to make).  Mia is a strong character, even though she doesn’t think she is.  She’s a quiet cello player who would prefer to blend in with the wallpaper than stand out in a crowd.  And I can relate to that.  I respect her for that.

The story flips back and forth between the present and the past, as Mia struggles to come to terms with what happened and what it means for her now.  So many things stir up old memories and she relives them as she goes along.  While it’s sometimes frustrating because it’s constantly bouncing between the two, it really does help us understand Mia better.  I don’t think the story could work any other way.

This story is just so full of wisdom and heart.  I love it so much.  I even have a poster that I’ve put up in my classroom for this book.  I’m definitely seeing this movie as soon as I possibly can.

One thought on “If I Stay (If I Stay, #1)

Leave a Reply

