Spotlight Friday (116)

Well hello again, lovelies!  Long time, no see, yeah?  It’s been only about a week since I last posted, but it feels like it’s been forever!  I miss you guys.  But even though my weeks are now filled with grammar and preteens, my weekends are still all about reading and spreading book news with you!  Here are three new books coming out soon!

Winterspell by Claire Legrand

Release Date: September 30, 2014

Summary (from Goodreads):

The clock chimes midnight, a curse breaks, and a girl meets a prince . . . but what follows is not all sweetness and sugarplums.

New York City, 1899. Clara Stole, the mayor’s ever-proper daughter, leads a double life. Since her mother’s murder, she has secretly trained in self-defense with the mysterious Drosselmeyer.

Then, on Christmas Eve, disaster strikes.

Her home is destroyed, her father abducted–by beings distinctly not human. To find him, Clara journeys to the war-ravaged land of Cane. Her only companion is the dethroned prince Nicholas, bound by a wicked curse. If they’re to survive, Clara has no choice but to trust him, but his haunted eyes burn with secrets–and a need she can’t define. With the dangerous, seductive faery queen Anise hunting them, Clara soon realizes she won’t leave Cane unscathed–if she leaves at all.

Inspired by The Nutcracker, Winterspell is a dark, timeless fairy tale about love and war, longing and loneliness, and a girl who must learn to live without fear.

What’s To Like: So I’ll freely admit that I’ve never been a fan of The Nutcracker ballet, but I think this looks totally boss.  I love that it’s a dark twist on an old classic Christmas story.  While I likely won’t read this until November or December, I am very much looking forward to this.  I want to see how dangerous Anise (the sugarplum fairy?) is.  Kind of a complete role reversal, if I remember correctly.

Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang

Release Date: September 9, 2014

Summary (from Goodreads):

On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

What’s To Like: This is one of the few novels where I actually say I’m interested in the form and structure of it almost as much as I am of the story itself.  It interests me in that it says it’s nonlinear and told from an unexpected narrator (not that I’m expecting a specific one at this point, but it could be like, Death or something a la The Book Thief).  Considering I like all three of the authors listed at the end of the summary, I think I’m going to like this.

My review of Falling Into Place

Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White

Release Date: September 9, 2014

Summary (from Goodreads):

Jessamin has been an outcast since she moved from her island home of Melei to the dreary country of Albion. Everything changes when she meets Finn, a gorgeous, enigmatic young lord who introduces her to the secret world of Albion’s nobility, a world that has everything Jessamin doesn’t—power, money, status…and magic. But Finn has secrets of his own, dangerous secrets that the vicious Lord Downpike will do anything to possess. Unless Jessamin, armed only with her wits and her determination, can stop him.

Kiersten White captured readers’ hearts with her New York Times bestselling Paranormalcy trilogy and its effortless mix of magic and real-world teenage humor. She returns to that winning combination of wit, charm, and enchantment in Illusions of Fate, a sparkling and romantic new novel perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, The Madman’s Daughter, and Libba Bray.

What’s To Like: Kiersten White is my hero and I just know this is going to be awesome.  I love her characters and she always does a good job with her novels.  I love the humor and, though this is the first book of hers to go historical, I’m pretty sure it’s going to be epic.  I am very much looking forward to meeting Finn and seeing what’s so special about him.

My review of Illusions of Fate

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s