The Wicked Within (Gods & Monsters, #3)

First Lines: The crunch of our shoes on asphalt, leaves, and debris was loud in the quiet of Coliseum Street.

When I wasn’t watching movies this weekend or getting caught up on my grading, I was binge-reading.  Apparently, this is going to be a thing from now on, since my reading time is limited during the school year. I physically could not get enough of words.  All day yesterday, I was consuming any books I could get my hands on.  This was the first one I finished.

*Potential Series Spoilers*

After having temporarily beating Athena, Ari is desperate to break the curse on her family.  Her only lead is the Hands of Zeus, an ancient relic that the ruling class of New 2 keeps in their possession.  But if there’s one thing Athena wants, it’s the Hands of Zeus. And what Athena wants, Athena gets…and woe be to those who cross her.  But before either of them gets the relic, it goes missing.  Leads are slim to none.  Ari’s life, as well as the lives of her friends, rest on her finding the relic first.  Can she save those she cares about?

Alright.  So it’s been a while since I’ve read the previous books.  I’ll fess up to it.  But slowly, I fell back into the story.

There were a lot of twists and turns that made the whole thing really enjoyable.  I liked that there was always something going on, as well as the few perspective switches from Ari to Sebastian.  That extra perspective added so much to the story in such a short amount of time.

I really liked the characters in the story too.  I remembered Ari and Sebastian, at least, but I kind of forgot the others.  It was nice to re-meet them.  But the best thing was that the characters were always changing and surprising me.  Even the villains weren’t always what they seemed.

While there was a lot of action in the story, I did think the ending was a bit tamer than I thought it would be.  There’s all this excitement and it just builds and crescendos…and then just kinda leveled off.  I mean, it was still super exciting, but I kept waiting for a twist that never came.

And I know I’ve said in the past that I actually enjoyed the cursing in this story, that I thought it added a level of authenticity and honesty.  Well, now I’m changing my tune.  It was kind of a turn-off.  I mean, I get it.  There’s really terribly things happening and in the heat of the moment, a few bad words fly out.  But this was excessive.  And unnecessary.  Do we really need it all?

A really interesting tale.  I loved that it tackled the tale of Medusa and wove it into a completely new story.  I just happened to lose a few threads of the story over time.

Leave a Reply

