Spotlight Friday (118)

Hello again!  Oh, I’m so glad to be back.  I have SO MANY THINGS to post this weekend!  (I really can’t post much when I’m exhausted and trying to grade ALL THE ESSAYS.)  But I have time now!  And I thought I’d start us off with some books you can look forward to this month!

The Queen of Zombie Hearts (White Rabbit Chronicles, #3) by Gena Showalter

Release Date: September 30, 2014

Summary (from Goodreads):

I have a plan.

We’ll either destroy them for good, or they’ll destroy us.

Either way, only one of us is walking away.

In the stunning conclusion to the wildly popular White Rabbit Chronicles, Alice “Ali” Bell thinks the worst is behind her. She’s ready to take the next step with boyfriend Cole Holland, the leader of the zombie slayers…until Anima Industries, the agency controlling the zombies, launches a sneak attack, killing four of her friends. It’s then she realizes that humans can be more dangerous than monsters…and the worst has only begun.

As the surviving slayers prepare for war, Ali discovers she, too, can control the zombies…and she isn’t the girl she thought she was. She’s connected to the woman responsible for killing—and turning—Cole’s mother. How can their relationship endure? As secrets come to light, and more slayers are taken or killed, Ali will fight harder than ever to bring down Anima—even sacrificing her own life for those she loves.

What’s To Like: This book is going to be amazing, but I am super scared to see who dies here.  I think this is the first time I’ve read the summary and I’m having a minor panic attack.  It’s so carefully worded after it announces that that I fear Cole may be one of the dead.  Gah!  I’m just gonna curl up in the corner now until Sept. 30.

My review of The Queen of Zombie Hearts

Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

Release Date: October 7, 2014

Summary (from Goodreads):

Sometimes danger is hard to see… until it’s too late.

Britt Pfeiffer has trained to backpack the Teton Range, but she isn’t prepared when her ex-boyfriend, who still haunts her every thought, wants to join her. Before Britt can explore her feelings for Calvin, an unexpected blizzard forces her to seek shelter in a remote cabin, accepting the hospitality of its two very handsome occupants—but these men are fugitives, and they take her hostage.

In exchange for her life, Britt agrees to guide the men off the mountain. As they set off, Britt knows she must stay alive long enough for Calvin to find her. The task is made even more complicated when Britt finds chilling evidence of a series of murders that have taken place there… and in uncovering this, she may become the killer’s next target.

But nothing is as it seems in the mountains, and everyone is keeping secrets, including Mason, one of her kidnappers. His kindness is confusing Britt. Is he an enemy? Or an ally?

What’s To Like: I love that I’m already confused about what’s going to happen in this book.  It’s a full-fledged mystery, I think.  And I’m really excited to see how Fitzpatrick handles that.  She did really well with paranormal/angels in her last book series, and I’m curious to see how her newest venture will turn out.

My review of Black Ice

Kiss Kill Vanish by Jessica Martinez

Release Date: October 7, 2014

Summary (from Goodreads):

Valentina Cruz no longer exists.

One moment, she was wrapped in Emilio’s arms, melting into his kiss. The next, she was witnessing the unthinkable: a murder in cold blood, ordered by her father and carried out by her boyfriend. When Emilio pulled the trigger, Valentina disappeared. She made a split-second decision to shed her identity and flee her life of privilege, leaving the glittering parties and sultry nightlife of Miami far behind.

She doesn’t know how to explain to herself what she saw. All she knows now is that nothing she believed about her family, her heart, or Emilio’s love, was real.

She can change her name and deny her past, but Valentina can’t run from the truth. The lines between right and wrong, and trust and betrayal, will be blurred beyond recognition as she untangles the deceptions of the two men she once loved and races to find her own truth.

What’s To Like: I’m really curious about this book.  I think it sounds like a great thriller, since her family and her boyfriend were in on this murder.  (I get the sneaking suspicion that they find her in the end/she returns to them.)  I enjoy stories where life gets turned upside down and boy, does Valentina’s fit the bill. Also, I like that this seems to have Latino edge to it, and I think so few books like that make it mainstream.  I hope this does well.

Leave a Reply

