Four: A Divergent Story Collection (Divergent #0.1-0.4)

First Lines: I emerge from the simulation with a yell.  My lip stings, and when I take my hand away from it, there is blood on my fingertips.  I must have bitten it during the test.

When I saw this on the library shelf, I snagged it.  Funny enough, this wasn’t even on my to-read list.  But that had to have been an oversight on my part because I totally wanted to read it.  Who wouldn’t want to read about Four?

*Potential Mild Series Spoilers Ahead, if you haven’t read Divergent*

Two years before Beatrice Prior made her choice, Tobias Eaton made his.  Son of the Abnegation leader, Tobias realizes he has to leave his father.  He needs to be someone new.  Joining Dauntless and renaming himself Four seems to be the trick.  But Dauntless isn’t what he thought it would be.  When Four stumbles upon dangerous plots that threaten those around him, he must decide if he should take action or not.  Two years later, ready to take action, Four’s life changes when a young Abnegation transfer jumped off the roof.  With her help, he may be able to stop bad things from happening…but at what price?

Ok, so basics: the first three stories in this book take place before Tris ever enters the picture.  Which was fine.  There was a lot of background on Four and his life prior to the transfer.  I liked that.  I liked seeing Four go through his own initiation and all that.  It was nice to see him as lost as Tris was.

But they weren’t overly exciting.  I mean, there were cute or funny or exciting scenes, but the stories just didn’t have the same feel to them that I got from Divergent.  Maybe it’s just because I don’t know these characters as well.  We never really see Four with any friends in Divergent and it was weird seeing his friends here.

The fourth story in this collection is parallel with Divergent, just from Four’s perspective.  This made it all worth it.  I mean, I’ve read that story like 3 times already just because I love it so much.  It’s so interesting to see the same scenes from another set of eyes.  And one of my favorite scenes was in this!  (I don’t know whether I should tell you or not what scene I’m talking about!)  Suffice it to say, the meat of Divergent is in here, along with a few other snippets at the end from Four’s perspective.

I loved seeing Four the way he sees himself, especially since he’s so private.  He’s a sharp kid.  He sees way more than a lot of people give him credit for, but he also knows how to hide who he is from others.  I was impressed by his instincts and his cleverness.  I didn’t think Four could impress me that much, but I think I might have just fallen in love with him a little more.

Such a great collection, even if you just pick it up for the last story.

One thought on “Four: A Divergent Story Collection (Divergent #0.1-0.4)

Leave a Reply

