Touch

First Lines: Love’s arrow strikes the boy first.  It punctures his heart, turning it into a flashbulb within the shadowed halls of his body.

I was asked by the author to read and review this.  And once I saw what it was about, I couldn’t refuse. How is this Greek mythology-loving girl supposed to turn down a modernization of a Greek god?  She can’t.

The stories are wrong.  Eros isn’t a pudgy baby boy, flinging his arrows right and left.  No, the god of love is actually a teenage goddess…and her name is Love.  With a single arrow, Love can make someone fall in love.  She loves being a matchmaker.  But Love has never been in love.  Not until she meets Andrew, a crippled boy who can somehow see the invisible goddess.  It should be impossible.  But even worse is when Love begins wanting Andrew.  The Fates have already decided he belongs to someone else.  Can Love defy the Fates?  Should she?

I thought this was a very cute read.  I love lovey-dovey stories and how much more lovey-dovey can you get than the goddess of love?  I thought all the different angles on love (and Love) were well-done.

I thought Love was a believable lead.  She was passionate about her job (matchmaking), but she also had a very clear wall between herself and the humans she matched.  She saw them as something less than herself, a curiosity.  It was an attitude I would have expected her to have, especially since no one can see her.  She’s left alone to watch them endlessly.

Admittedly, I may be somewhat biased, but there was a really cool character named Holly in the story.  (Does she have the *best* name ever or what?)  And she was so much like me, I started wondering if it really WAS me in the story!  (Ok, not really, but the similarities were numerous.)

I thought the pace of the story was good as well.  The action tended to be subtle, something that Love didn’t realize was happening until after it happened.  She only noticed her feelings changing after they had already changed.  That was really sweet.

The ending, though, seemed a little less subtle.  It started getting predictable and much faster paced.  At times, it seemed over-the-top.  And maybe a little prolonged.

I will warn you that this is for MATURE readers of YA.  I knew that going into this, but I wasn’t prepared for how mature it was.  Obviously, as the goddess of love, Love has some…duties.  Yeah.  I’ll leave it at that.  Also, there are curses and obscenities, mostly the f-bomb.  I could have done without that for two reasons: one, it never really made sense for that character to say something that strong and two, it didn’t seem to fit the story either.  It felt like a jolt every time it came up.  I was pulled out of the story so many times when this happened.

Overall, though, it was a cute contemporary YA romance.  You definitely do not have to know or love Greek mythology to like this.

Leave a Reply

