The Kiss of Deception (The Remnant Chronicles, #1)

First Lines: Today was the day a thousand dreams would die and a single dream would be born.

Sometimes, I truly believe a good fantasy novel is in order.  Especially when it’s a thick, 500 page novel.  Who doesn’t love that kind of stuff?  …Ok, admittedly, I used to be that person who didn’t like it.  But now I do!

Seventeen year old Princess Lia, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan, feels like her life is about to end today.  This is her wedding day, to a man she’s never met, just to secure a political alliance.  Fed up with pointless traditions and eager for a new life, Lia runs away on the morning of her wedding.  She finds herself in a small village, where she easily blends in with the commoners.  When two strangers come to town, Lia is intrigued by them.  Handsome and mysterious, they are a mystery to Lia.  Little does she know that one is her jilted prince…and one is an assassin sent to kill her.  Can Lia unlock their secrets before it’s too late?

First of all, I loved how many twists there were in this book.  There was one in particular that really got me.  I can’t tell if it was my mistake somewhere along the way or the author’s awesome writing (or both?), but I was blindsided by it because I thought I knew what was going on.  I had to take a moment to go, “Woah.  Did this just happen?”

And I really liked Lia, though I definitely liked her more by the end.  Don’t get me wrong, Lia is a strong heroine all the way through, but she just keeps getting stronger throughout the novel.  The more people try to bring her down, the stronger she gets.  And I loved that.  There is one scene in particular, toward the end of the book, that was just insanely moving and heartbreaking and just showcased Lia’s strength. I loved that so much.  Ok, I think I’m done gushing for now.

There is a decent amount of action in this story as well.  It never got dull.  Sure, for maybe 100 pages or so, it would be the romance element of the story or it would build suspense somehow, but then it would switch and turn to action or drama.  It never really stayed just one thing.  (I say this because I thought for sure this was going to be some kind of fantasy-romance novel because of the book jacket.  But it’s so much more than that.  Actually, that part’s fairly insignificant.)

True, there is something of a love triangle in story, but it’s not nearly as prevalent as the book jacket makes it seem.  Lia knew who she liked.  She just happened to have two boys who liked her.  So it was a little different than the traditional “love triangle”.  Hurray for that.

Definitely a fun read, but watch out for that cliffhanger at the end.  The sequel cannot come soon enough.

Leave a Reply

