I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You (Gallagher Girls, #1)

First Lines: I suppose a lot of teenage girls feel invisible sometimes, like they just disappear.  Well, that’s me–Cammie the Chameleon.

Toward the end of Winter Break, I was looking for something that would be a quick read and a realistic fiction that could counteract all the sci-fi/paranormal/historical fiction books I’d been reading.  This was something I bought dirt cheap at a sale last summer to take to my classroom, but I wanted to read it first.  This was my chance.

Cammie Morgan is a Gallagher Girl, a sophomore at the Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women.  It’s even more impressive when you know a Gallagher Girl is a spy in training.  Cammie’s classes aren’t the typical English and science classes, but classes like Covert Operations.  But even though Cammie is fluent in 14 different languages, she has no idea how to speak Boy when a normal boy thinks she’s a normal girl.  She can hack his computer, plan surveillance on his home, and break into said home, but can she maneuver a relationship without telling the truth?

First of all, I fully acknowledge that this book is aimed at a much younger audience than myself.  Cammie is a 15 year old sophomore, whereas I am a 20-something adult.  Clearly, Cammie and I have a large age gap.  (Though if you take into account that this was published when I was 15, things even out a little.)

I found this to be a good book all the same.  It was funny and surprising at times.  All of the spy classes and devices just added another layer of cool to the whole thing.

I liked how the book had a fairly subtle message about female empowerment.  It’s an all-girls school lead by a strong female headmistress and the girls are all more than capable of taking on anyone who would try to hurt them physically or emotionally.  They were frequently underestimated because they were girls and they used that to their advantage.  I loved that.  I hated being underestimated at Cammie’s age and i know I used that to my advantage.

I thought the narrative was interesting, as it was told through Cammie’s report/case file on this boy she likes.  It was funny because it was something as common as a crush, yet it was written in this sometimes clerical language.  The combination made for a humorous read.  Especially when they did needlessly complex things to see if the boy liked her.  (They even got a “Boy-interpretor” to help on the mission.)

Overall, I thought this was a cute book with cute characters and a strong central message about the strength of girls.

One thought on “I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You (Gallagher Girls, #1)

  1. I read this book over christmas too and loved it, little slow at times but a brilliantly clever read. Nice review. I still need to write mine up in a few days. I recieved books two in the post and looking forward to starting it.

Leave a Reply

