Whisper the Dead (The Lovegrove Legacy, #2)

First Lines: Gretchen was on her way to the Worthing musicale when her head exploded.  She finally knew exactly what a ripe melon felt like when it burst open.  Frankly, it was knowledge she could have done without.

I think the weather is paying attention to my reading habits.  I read a book with snow and frost on the cover and what happens?  Blistering cold and snow.  Coincidence?  I think NOT!  …Ok, maybe a little bit.

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

Being a Lovegrove is no easy task, as Gretchen has learned.  As a Whisperer, a rare kind of witch that can tell when spells aren’t right, Gretchen constantly hears voices in her head from other witches about spells.  It’s a pain.  But when something evil descends on her town, Gretchen must master her gift–and fast.  Together with her cousins, a Madcap named Moira, and the reserved Tobias Lawless, Gretchen will go through unimaginable trials in order to keep the Greymalkin sisters from rising again.

First of all, I give Harvey kudos.  This book did not pull its punches.  Some of them were soul-beating punches, others just enough for a bruise.  But it was rough and surprising at times.

I actually liked this book better than the first one.  There was just something about Gretchen and Tobias that I liked better than Emma and Cormac.  I think it’s because Gretchen’s fiery attitude immediately made her more interesting to me than Emma’s personality.  And Tobias’s reserved nature–along with his secrets–was more entertaining than Cormac’s flirty demeanor.  There’s nothing wrong with Emma and Cormac…they just weren’t terribly interesting to me.  I love a heroine with a ton of spunk and rebellion to her name.

There is a lot of action in this book as well.  Sure, there were dull moments at times, but the ending of the book is quite intense.  And action–fighting, unraveling secrets–is present throughout the entire novel in good doses.

Still, even though I enjoyed the book, there was something about it that keeps me from saying that I loved it.  I think it stems from the narration style.  I had this issue with the last book too.  The narration jumps from Gretchen to Penelope to Emma to Cormac to Tobias to Moira and then back again in any number of combinations.  There are just so many characters that crop up as narrators and it just felt choppy to me.  While it absolutely works for some stories, I just don’t think this is one of them.  Or at least something about it feels off.

Overall, it’s a fun paranormal/historical fiction read that is even more intense than the last and full of fun spice from our lead characters.

Leave a Reply

