Famous In Love (Famous in Love, #1)

First Lines: Listen.  I’ll tell you what it’s like to be with him.  How he kisses me.  How he touches my cheek.  I’ll tell you what he whispers to me before we go out and meet those screaming crowds.

After nearly 2 weeks of being sick, I have finally been told that I suffer from a sinus infection, my friends.  Which is miserable, but it does give me a pretty good excuse to lay around and do nothing but read, so…a devil in disguise?  This was a book I received months ago as an ARC and sorta forgot I had.  Oops.  (In my defense, the first year of teaching is so busy at times that I’m lucky I remember my name.)

Before she was discovered, Paige Townsen was nothing but the youngest in a family of four with a passion for acting.  Now, she’s the lead in the latest bestseller-turned-blockbuster movie, a nobody that now everyone knows.  Within a month, she’s traded Oregon for Maui and is spending time with Rainer Devon, one of People’s Sexiest Men Alive.  Life could not get better for Paige.  And then Jordan Wilder shows up on set.  The dark, brooding Jordan plays the other corner in her character’s love triangle…and maybe part of the triangle in Paige’s own life.  Can Paige decide which boy she wants with the whole world watching?

For whatever reason, I have always been drawn to stories where relative nobodies are plucked from obscurity and thrown into the spotlight via royalty, the arts, whatever.  There’s just something about these stories that really speaks to me.  If they are a guilty pleasure of mine, then I don’t feel the least bit guilty about it.

First of all, I loved seeing all this “behind the scenes” stuff about making movies.  I’ve always been curious about what goes into making a movie, and it was really cool for Paige to discover some of this along the way.

I thought the characters were pretty cute (which will be a running theme here: “cute”).  While Paige is a celebrity in her own right now, she’s completely unsure of herself, especially since the director comes down hard on her.  Rainer is a sweet guy who makes Paige laugh just when she needs it.  But it’s Jordan who really steals the story.  He’s so wrapped up in mysteries that Paige spends the whole book peeling off layer after layer.  He’s Rainer’s antithesis, and that mysterious angle makes him far more interesting than Rainer, who tends to wear his heart on his sleeve.

But there were some things this story didn’t excel at.  The romance was one of those things.  I thought there were many scenes that felt artificial.  And I know the actors have all these kissing scenes where they’re not actually kissing each other but really are.  Some things just seemed too…convenient.  Like how Paige would look at one of the boys and suddenly the entire world would disappear around her and someone would have to say her name 5 times to get her attention.  Maybe it’s just because that’s never happened to me, but it felt artificial.

Aaaaand there’s the love triangle.  Sigh.  Can we banish these yet?  Admittedly, this one did a good job of twisting me from liking one boy to liking the other, which does not happen very often.  But nothing good ever comes from love triangles in stories.  It’s all about creating drama.  As this book evidenced.

Overall, it was a cute story with a focus on filmmaking and what it means to be a movie star.  Just don’t count on a love story that’s any deeper than that of Bella-Edward-Jacob.

One thought on “Famous In Love (Famous in Love, #1)

Leave a Reply

