Spotlight Friday (124)

Hello, my lovelies!  I haven’t forgotten you!  I mean, I may be see and forgetting a lot of little things today (like at what time I’m supposed to be taking my antibiotics, which is something you’d think I’d want to remember), but I haven’t forgotten that it’s FRIDAY!  So let’s check out some fabulous February reads, shall we?

One of the Guys by Lisa Aldin

Release Date: February 10, 2015

Summary (from Goodreads):

Tomboy to the core, Toni Valentine understands guys. She’ll take horror movies, monster hunts and burping contests over manicures. So Toni is horrified when she’s sent to the Winston Academy for Girls, where she has to wear a skirt and learn to be a lady while the guys move on without her.

Then Toni meets Emma Elizabeth, a girl at school with boy troubles, and she volunteers one of her friends as a pretend date. Word spreads of Toni’s connections with boys, and she discovers that her new wealthy female classmates will pay big money for fake dates. Looking for a way to connect her old best friends with her new life at school, Toni and Emma start up Toni Valentine’s Rent-A-Gent Service.

But the business meets a scandal when Toni falls for one of her friends–the same guy who happens to be the most sought-after date. With everything she’s built on the line, Toni has to decide if she wants to save the business and her old life, or let go of being one of the guys for a chance at love.

What’s To Like: I love stories where there are tomboyish girls.  Like, the tomboyish girls who don’t have a prayer of even knowing what Gossip Girl is.  Because that is so me.  And there’s just something so unself-conscious (if that’s a word) about these kind of girls.  I love that.  And this book just sounds like something out of a Shakespearean comedy.  The concept of this just makes me giggle.

The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand

Release Date: February 10, 2015

Summary (from Goodreads):

The last time Lex was happy, it was before. When she had a family that was whole. A boyfriend she loved. Friends who didn’t look at her like she might break down at any moment.

Now she’s just the girl whose brother killed himself. And it feels like that’s all she’ll ever be.

As Lex starts to put her life back together, she tries to block out what happened the night Tyler died. But there’s a secret she hasn’t told anyone-a text Tyler sent, that could have changed everything.

Lex’s brother is gone. But Lex is about to discover that a ghost doesn’t have to be real to keep you from moving on.

What’s To Like: I probably looked at this book five times before it dawned on me how I knew the author’s name.  This book is so vastly different from her Unearthly series that I never would have put the two together.  There’s something deep about this book, and all I have to go on is this little blurb.  I want to know what was in that text, why she blames herself.  I want to know what happened with her brother.  It’s going to be a difficult read, undoubtedly, but I think it’ll be worth it.

The Ruby Circle (Bloodlines, #6) by Richelle Mead

Release Date: February 10, 2015

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

Summary (from Goodreads):

Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets—and human lives.

After their secret romance is exposed, Sydney and Adrian find themselves facing the wrath of both the Alchemists and the Moroi in this electrifying conclusion to Richelle Mead’s New York Times bestselling Bloodlines series. When the life of someone they both love is put on the line, Sydney risks everything to hunt down a deadly former nemesis. Meanwhile, Adrian becomes enmeshed in a puzzle that could hold the key to a shocking secret about spirit magic, a secret that could shake the entire Moroi world.

What’s To Like: Welcome to the part in our regularly scheduled program where the blogger forgets how to breathe from sheer excitement.  I have been hooked on Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy world since I discovered VA in like, my sophomore/junior year of high school (and I’m a teacher myself now).  While I’m terribly sad to see this world come to an end, I’m so looking forward to how everything wraps up.  I never ever ever would have thought I’d want a happy ending for Adrian, but I find myself craving it more than the happy ending I wanted for Rose.  This book is going to BREAK MY HEART, I just know it.

My review of The Ruby Circle

One thought on “Spotlight Friday (124)

Leave a Reply

