Sisters’ Fate (The Cahill Witch Chronicles, #3)

First Lines: I leave Maura in the swirling snow and ice.  I cannot look at her scheming face one moment longer, or I will not be responsible for my actions.

It’s a very good thing I made a run to the library when I did last week, because I’m about to get snowed in for the foreseeable future.  So…yay free time for reading!  I picked up a number of series books, so hopefully that means I’ll be finishing off a few series, like this one!

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

Life in New London has just gotten infinitely more dangerous, with girls being sent directly to the gallows for even the mere suspicion of being a witch.  The Sisterhood is powerless to act without revealing themselves.  And after an accidental show of power, Cate becomes the most wanted woman in all of New England.  To make everything worse, Cate can’t decide what she wants to do about Finn, who no longer remembers who she is.  Should she try to help him fall back in love with her or should she protect him from more attacks?  Tess’s visions have been getting even stronger, and it’s only a matter of time now before one of the Cahill sisters brings the prophecy to fruition…

To be fair, I haven’t always been the biggest supporter of this series.  There’s always been something that feels off about the sisters to me.  Maybe it’s all of the drama I find off-putting.  Or maybe it’s the fact that I simply don’t have any sisters and so it all feels weird to me, like, “Oh, sisters really do that?  I could never get my brothers to do that.”  I just wanted to say that upfront because I do think it colors my reading of this book.

Ok, so right from page one, it felt like walking into a brick wall of tension.  I started this book before bed one night and had to put it down after the first chapter simply because my blood was vibrating in my veins, which was not conducive to going to sleep.  But hey, at least it picked up immediately where the last book’s nasty cliffhanger left off.

And the action in this was always moving.  There was constantly something going on that involved Cate’s feud/battle/disagreement with someone.  (Cate seemed to be butting heads with a lot of people this time around.)  But yes, the story is pretty much always tense.  There are very few times where it seems to relax.

The characters were exceptionally well written.  Not just the Cahill sisters, but minor characters as well.  Finn (but seriously, who doesn’t love that boy?), Rilla, and the other Sisters.  And there were other amazing new characters like Prue and Alistair, both of whom I quite enjoyed.  I wish they had been a bigger presence in the series.  And on the flip side, the evil characters are also well-written.  Because even though you want to give them their own pyre, you kind of understand why they’re doing what they’re doing.  And they’re consistent in their evilness.

The story between Cate and Finn is still cute, but it’s obviously different than it has been in the last two books.  I don’t want to say much more for fear of spoiling something.  But Finn is still Finn, and that alone is worth a swoon.

Like I said at the beginning, there were just some times that something felt off about the story to me.  I think it’s mostly due to all of the drama in the Sisterhood, with all of the girls scheming behind other girls’ backs, nasty tricks, and an evil abbess playing puppet master throughout the whole story.  It’s just so opposite of the way I grew up and the friends I’ve had throughout my life that I just can’t put up with girls who do that.  I can’t.  So whenever that was happening (and it frequently did), I kept wanting to put the book down and move on to something else for a while.

Overall, I thought it was an action-packed read with lots of great characters and a plot that was always moving and evolving.  If you haven’t gotten into this series yet…what are you waiting for?

Leave a Reply

