The One (The Selection, #3)

First Lines: This time we were in the Great Room enduring another etiquette lesson when bricks came flying through the window.

After my, shall we say disastrous reading of the previous book, I was very concerned about how this one would go.  Many of you encouraged me, saying that this was better than the last.  So I tried to go into it with an open mind.

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

When the Selection began, America never imagined she’d be anywhere close to the crown or Maxon’s heart.  But here she is, a part of the Elite.  Only it’s not that simple.  The kingdom is restless and the rebels are as dangerous as ever.  Their attacks are more vicious than they have been.  With rebels threatening to take away everything America holds dear, she’ll finally discover what’s worth fighting for.

I admit it, you guys were right.  This one was quite a bit better than the last one.  Can I get a hallelujah?

One of the things I think greatly improved was simply America’s character motivation.  I finally saw why America did what she did.  I understood her as a character.  Before, it always seemed like she was flighty and flippant, switching between Maxon and Aspen like they were two flavors of ice cream that she couldn’t decide which was better.  But this time, I felt like I saw more into why she couldn’t choose between them, and that went a long way to improving my thoughts on this book.

Also, I thought Maxon and Aspen were better characters in this book.  After the last book, I said Aspen could jump off a cliff for all I cared.  This time, they were both my relatable and more vulnerable, which made me respect them both more.  Amazing how that works.

The plot was better this time around too, though still a little too predictable at times.  It was less about the competition (and the catty girl fights) and more about the unrest in the kingdom.  Thank God.  I’ve been saying it needed to be more about the rebels from book 1.  They gave the series substance.

The ending was a bit too convenient and lacked sparkle for me.  By sparkle, I just mean…I don’t know…it didn’t feel like an exciting end to a series.  It didn’t feel right.  And I’m all about fluff, but it’s gotta be more believable than this was.  Sure, I more or less knew how this was going to end before I even started this series, but I just thought it would end in a more spectacular fashion.  I felt like there were still loose ends at the end of this.

Overall, this was an improvement over the previous books, but there was still more I was hoping out of it.  It did take me by surprise a few times.  I just wanted something more.

3 thoughts on “The One (The Selection, #3)

  1. I HATED this. And I really liked the first one. It was good that we got to know more about the society, but it felt too forced. And I agree with what you said about America being flippant. Does she realise that those two have feelings?!?

  2. I am glad you enjoyed this one more than the second one. I agree some the ending was not great. I still did not like Aspen I wanted much less of him in the book. I actually skim read most of his parts. Not sure if I am going to read the new one that’s coming out.

Leave a Reply

