Captive (The Blackcoat Rebellion, #2)

First Lines: Somewhere nearby, Benjy was waiting for me.

I grabbed this off of the library shelf because I wanted to keep up on this story.  I wasn’t really looking for a dystopian, but something with a bit of a mind game?  Yeah, I could go for that.

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

For two months, Kitty Doe has been living a lie.  She’s been forced to impersonate the Prime Minister’s niece, Lila Hart.  But in the middle of trying to learn more about her own past, Kitty is accused of treason and is forced to go to Elsewhere, her greatest fear.  It’s a prison with no escape.  As one shock leads to the next, Kitty learns she can trust no one.  Kitty wants to believe she’s willing to give everything for the rebellion she believes in, but is she really willing to pay the ultimate price?

The first note worthy of noting is that it didn’t take much to jump back into this storyline.  I had notes from the previous book and I remembered some things, but it really wasn’t hard to remember what was going on and get caught up again.  So that was good.

I thought it was interesting that Kitty is starting to feel like she’s losing herself in Lila.  She’s been Lila for months and it’s so hard for her to remember who she was as Kitty.  Thematically, I thought it was cool that she struggled so much with identity.

There were still a lot of cool twists in this story.  It is still a mind game, but I started seeing them.  It wasn’t as surprising this time around.  I knew to expect the big surprises, the big reveals this time around.  I didn’t know that last time, so it was cool.  This time…well, it was still cool but not as shocking.

I liked Kitty.  Or, well, I guess I should say I respected her for her bravery and courage.  Sometimes I didn’t quite agree with her decisions, but I respected her.  I didn’t really feel that any other characters had that big of a role this time around.

I was intrigued by this being set in Elsewhere.  It was an nice change of scenery and a new way to view their society.  It added depth to Kitty’s world.

It was a good book.  I was into it, but I wished it had been a little more surprising or had more familiar characters in it.

Leave a Reply

