Prodigy (Legend, #2)

First Lines: Day jolts awake beside me.  His brow is covered with sweat, and his cheeks are wet with tears.  He’s breathing heavily.

This is a book I constantly see my students reading…but it’s been 3 years since I read Legend.  Oops?  Still, in order to connect with what my students like, I decided I had to get back into this series.

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

It’s been seven days since June and Day barely managed to escape Los Angeles with their lives.  Day is still believed to have been executed and June is the most wanted traitor in the Republic.  Together, they are grieving the losses of their families.  Desperate, they turn to the Patriots for help.  But can they trust the Patriots or have they just become pawns in a new game?

Admittedly, I *may* have forgotten a few things about Legend before I picked this up, but I felt like I jumped back into the story quickly enough.

And boy, was it worth the wait.

This really did feel like a breath of fresh air in a dystopian genre that is so saturated that nothing feels new anymore.  But this, even though it had a number of things in common with other dystopian books, still felt new.  Like it added a different twist on the tropes and cliches.

I think part of it comes from the combined perspectives of June and Day.  June is like a young Sherlock Holmes.  She notices everything.  She questions things that don’t quite add up.  And I loved that about her.  Day is charismatic and dangerous.  Being from a lower class (while June is from an upper class) allows him to really see the truth behind things that June sometimes misses.  So the combination of the precise and meticulous June with the rebellious and eager Day really made the book.

There are some really cool twists in the story as well.  Some that I didn’t see coming.  And some of them were heartbreaking.  There was once I had to just pause in my reading and just stare at the page for a moment.

I think it’s safe to say I’m not going to be waiting 3 years to read the next book.

Leave a Reply

