The Fine Art of Pretending (The Fine Art of Pretending, #1)

First Lines: The cleavage popping out of my scandalously low-cut halter top heralds the beginning of Operation Sex Appeal.

After a slew of sci-fi/dystopian reads, a normal contemporary romance was just what I needed.  Because there are seriously only so many times you can read dystopians before you start believing the real government is out to get you.  *shiftily peaks over shoulder*

According to the boys at Fairfield Academy, there are two types of girls: the kind you hook up with and the kind you’re friends with.  Alyssa is the latter, much to her frustration.  To change her status, she devises a plan to land the most popular boy in school–Justin Carter–as her Homecoming date.  With only 57 days to Homecoming, Alyssa has to shed her tomboy image and get Justin to notice her. She needs her best friend Brandon’s help for that.  Brandon is the 2nd hottest guy in school and, now, her pretend boyfriend.  Now it’s only a matter of time until Justin notices her.  But what happens when everything goes as planned…and Aly and Brandon find their relationship in shambles?

This was adorable.  Utterly adorable.  I mean, there’s virtually nothing about this book that’s “new” to this genre, but it was definitely still a cute read.  I’m a sucker for stories like this.  I love love stories.

I thought the relationships in this book were pretty awesome.  And I’m not just talking about the romantic ones.  Aly and her best girl friends Kara and Gabi were so much fun to read about.  They were close-knit but dysfunctional in the best way.  And the banter/friendship between Aly and Brandon pre-pretend hookup was fun to read about as well.

Actually, the supporting characters were really just as cool as the main characters.  There’s depth there.  The plot does occasionally swing toward a minor character to fill them in a little before popping back to Aly.  It was nice.  I felt like I was getting to know a group of friends rather than just a single couple.  (Is that an oxymoron?  I think it is.)

I really liked the theme that Aly wanted to be someone different because I could easily relate to it (as most of us probably can).  Junior/senior year of high school was when I wanted to do that as well.  Only Aly has way more guts than me because she actually went through with it.  Still, I liked that she wanted to make a change…and what she realized about it at the end.

Adorable read, especially if you’re looking for something cutesy.  It kept me constantly coming back to read it until I finally finished it.

3 thoughts on “The Fine Art of Pretending (The Fine Art of Pretending, #1)

Leave a Reply

