The Shadow Cabinet (Shades of London, #3)

First Lines: The curtains as 16 Hyssop Circle hadn’t been opened all day.  The neighbors all agreed–something wasn’t right about the place anymore, not since the Smithfield-Wyatts had died and their twins ruled the roost.

A few weeks ago, in my excitement to read this book, I accidentally checked out the 2nd book in this series, thinking it was this one.  *facepalm* But hey, it all worked out.  I got it, didn’t I?

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

After a sudden and tragic event, Rory can’t even think through her grief.  Did she do everything she could?  If she did, how do you find a ghost?  To make it all worse, Rory’s classmate Charlotte has been kidnapped by Jane and her nefarious organization.  Evidence starts piling up of a forty-year-old cult and a likely mass murder involving missing teens.  Charlotte seems to be in a great deal of danger.  Time is running out for Rory and the squad to protect London…but what happens when Rory learns someone she trusts has been keeping a game-changing secret?

Have I ever said before that Maureen Johnson is a genius?  (Also, John Green, please pay Maureen her dollar already!)

I was practically bouncing to find out just what happened after that terrible-horrible-no-good-very-bad cliffhanger Johnson left us with in the last book.

I quickly felt like this didn’t have the same pizazz as the last two books.  Partly (or maybe mostly) because Rory didn’t have the same sense of humor this time around that I fell in love with in the previous books.  Her snark and Southern charm in the middle of London was a blast.  But, due to the aforementioned cliffhanger, Rory is not in the mood and it seriously colors the rest of the book.  I totally understood the need for the severity of the tone, but I was a little disappointed all the same.

But it was really great getting to know the characters a lot better.  Particularly some of the secretive characters like Thorpe and Stephen.  They really shined this time around.

And this book ramps up the mythology that goes into the story.  Big time.  It’s actually seriously creepy at times.  Some of the mythology was well-known stuff and other stuff had me sitting there going, “Wait.  Is this real or a myth?”  Because if it’s real, I want to see.

There were some great twists in the story.  There’s a big one that I think was supposed to be more surprising than it ended up being.  But I wasn’t expecting how it played out, and that made it really enjoyable.

Also, I was apparently laboring under the delusion that this was only a trilogy…it’s not.  Ugh.  I thought this book was going to put me out of my misery after that cliffhanger only to find out that I’m going to have to wait another like, 2 years to finish this series!  I have mixed feelings about this.

So, this may not have been my favorite book in this series, but it’s still really good.

Leave a Reply

