Just One Year (Just One Day, #2)

First Lines: It’s the dream I always have: I’m on a plane, high above the clouds.  The plane starts to descend, and I have this sudden panic because I just know that I’m on the wrong plane, am traveling to the wrong place.

There are certain authors that I keep trying to play catch-up on because, for whatever reason, I just stopped reading their books.  Forman is one of these.  I wanted to keep reading them…I just never got around to it.

They had one magical day in Paris together.  And for Willem, it may not have been enough.  A wandering traveller at heart, Willem doesn’t have anywhere to call home and barely any family to his name.  Longing for his Lulu, Willem decides to scour the world for the girl whose name he doesn’t even know.  Because, you know, the course of true love never did run smooth.

In case you’re unfamiliar with this series, this is more of a companion novel to the first book than a sequel.  That’s why I didn’t put the spoilery notice on this.  It takes place at the same time as Just One Day, but from Willem’s perspective.

After Allyson’s side of the story, I was really looking forward to Willem’s side.  I figured it would be hugely enlightening.  And it was.  I mean, Willem’s travels say a lot about him.  But just seeing the world through him was incredible.  Mexico, India, Amsterdam.  Gorgeousness.  Places I’ll never probably go, but I’m ok exploring them with someone like Willem.

But…erm…eh…augh…Willem is incredibly angsty.  Like annoyingly so.  His personality clashed with mine pretty badly.  Because of that, I found myself reluctantly reading.  It didn’t help that I never felt like the action took off.  Willem was too busy moping.  He spends the whole book pretending he doesn’t need anyone or anything and it just got old.  I just kept waiting for something interesting to happen and it so rarely did.

And I can’t even really tell you about other characters besides Broodje because, as I mentioned, Willem pretends he doesn’t need anyone else.  Oh.  Maybe that’s why I struggled with this book.  I love characters and there were so few of them here.  (P.S. Broodje is the total comic relief and he was fun.)

But the English major gives major props to the extensive usage of Shakespeare.  (Thank God Willem is a Shakespearean actor.)  That did help me get into the story a bit more.  I loved the parallels between Shakespeare and Willem’s life.  That helped me understand Willem a little better too.

I’m not saying it’s a bad read.  It’s really deep.  But all the angst and personal discovery was apparently not what I was in the mood for right now.

Leave a Reply

