Spotlight Friday (132)

Hello my lovelies!  It’s Friday once again, which means more books!  Let’s just say today’s mix is an interesting one.

Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

Release Date: May 19, 2015

Summary (from Goodreads): Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be—sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. Made You Up tells the story of Alex, a high school senior unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. This is a compelling and provoking literary debut that will appeal to fans of Wes Anderson, Silver Linings Playbook, and Liar.

Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8-Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until classes begin, and she runs into Miles. Didn’t she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal.

Funny, provoking, and ultimately moving, this debut novel featuring the quintessential unreliable narrator will have readers turning the pages and trying to figure out what is real and what is made up.

What’s To Like: I kind of like this idea of an unreliable narrator–when I know ahead of time that she’s probably unreliable.  I think this book is going to be a fun mind game as we try to figure out if she’s imagining things or not.

P.S. I Still Love You (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, #2) by Jenny Han

Release Date: May 26, 2015

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

Summary (from Goodreads): Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.
She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.
When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing.

What’s To Like: This is a really cute story, with the main concept being that Lara Jean once wrote letters to all the boys she “loved”, only to have them mailed for real by accident.  So I’m really excited to see who this 2nd guy is.  I mean, I liked Peter, but it seemed a little weird in the first book.  I want to see if this 2nd guy is better than Peter.

Joyride by Anna Banks

Release Date: June 2, 2015

Summary (from Goodreads): A popular guy and a shy girl with a secret become unlikely accomplices for midnight pranking, and are soon in over their heads—with the law and with each other—in this sparkling standalone from NYT-bestselling author Anna Banks.

It’s been years since Carly Vega’s parents were deported. She lives with her brother, studies hard, and works at a convenience store to contribute to getting her parents back from Mexico.

Arden Moss used to be the star quarterback at school. He dated popular blondes and had fun with his older sister, Amber. But now Amber’s dead, and Arden blames his father, the town sheriff who wouldn’t acknowledge Amber’s mental illness. Arden refuses to fulfill whatever his conservative father expects.

All Carly wants is to stay under the radar and do what her family expects. All Arden wants is to NOT do what his family expects. When their paths cross, they each realize they’ve been living according to others. Carly and Arden’s journey toward their true hearts—and one another—is funny, romantic, and sometimes harsh.

What’s To Like: I like these stories where opposites get pushed together to do something.  It sounds like the Perfect Chemistry kind of story.  It looks cute and insightful and interesting.  We’ll have to wait and see!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s