The Replaced (The Taking, #2)

First Lines: Dead.  Or rather, like I was dying.  That’s the way I felt, watching the screen go all black like that.

Kimberly Derting and I should be like, BFFs because I swear she’s never written a book I’ll turn down.  Even if this sci-fi series is…totally not the kind of sci-fi I generally enjoy reading.  Still, I grabbed this first chance I had.

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

Disappearing for five years has irrevocably changed Kyra’s life.  Hiding from government agents searching for her, Kyra spends her time with other Returned.  But her main goal is to find Tyler, the boy she loves who was also abducted–because of her.  When an intercepted message seems to hint that the NSA has Tyler, Kyra will stop at nothing to get him back.  But the worry never quite leaves her…what if Tyler isn’t the same anymore?  What if the abduction has changed him too?

Let’s start with what was good: the action.  There’s tons of it.  Fights, bad guys, bombs, guns, and more.  There’s also action in the form of betrayal, secrets, and darker things lurking in the shadows.  There was always something happening.  Of course, the pace moves a lot faster when it’s actual fighting, but that’s to be expected.  I did feel that it got bogged down a little in the middle, though, when all of the physical action stalled out.

I still really like Kyra’s character.  She’s strong, but she’s been through a lot.  And it doesn’t help that people don’t trust her to handle the truth.  She kind of kicks butt, but in an unconventional way at times.

There’s definitely something that feels unique about this series.  Maybe part of it is that I don’t usually read sci-fi books about abductions, or maybe it’s because there’s just so much potential here.  It’s been years since this has happened, but I can fully see multiple possible fan-fics that could be written in this world.  Which also means that I’m never quite sure which direction the story is going to take because there are so many possible routes.

But here’s the downside to this book: Tyler.  I’m heartbroken.  I fangirled hard over him in the previous book, but he just wasn’t the same this time around.  And I understand why.  But that, coupled with his status as missing meant that I didn’t get the same Tyler I was craving.  In the previous book, he was the guy I’ve been searching for (even though he’s fictional and 17).  But this time around he…just wasn’t.  I was hoping for so much more from him, my favorite character.

Still, I am excited to see what happens next in the series.  It’s bound to be loaded with action and (hopefully!) better Tyler-time.

Leave a Reply

