Black Ice

First Lines: The rusted Chevy pickup truck clanked to a stop, and when Lauren Huntsman’s head thumped the passenger window, it jolted her awake.

Apparently now that it’s like 80 degrees outside, I’m all about reading stories about winter and snow (see Bittersweet from 2 weeks ago).  Not sure what this phenomena is, unless it’s my pale-skinned way of trying to escape the heat.  (Pale skin + sun and heat = grumpy, uncomfortable me)  I’d been meaning to read this for a while and a mystery/thriller was something I hadn’t read in a while.

Britt has trained for months for her Spring Break trip to hike the Teton mountains.  But she isn’t prepared when her ex-boyfriend, Calvin, comes along.  Before she gets to the cabin, an unexpected blizzard forces Britt to seek shelter in a cabin with two handsome strangers–but they’re fugitives and decide to take her hostage.  In exchange for her life, Britt agrees to guide them off the mountain, if only she can stay alive long enough for Calvin to find her.  It gets more complicated when Britt discovers evidence from murders that happened on these mountains.  And Britt may just be his next target.  Still, nothing is quite like it seems and everyone is keeping secrets, including Mason, one of the kidnappers.  She’s confused by his kindness.  Is he an ally?  Or is he the enemy?

I wasn’t sure how this was going to turn out, since this seemed like a break from what Fitzpatrick usually writes (which is the angel series Hush, Hush).  But I was pleasantly surprised.  It was a thrilling and suspenseful read.

Granted, I had the mystery figured out by the time I was halfway through the book.  The clues are totally there, and they’re not exactly that well hidden.  But it didn’t bother me because I couldn’t figure out the motive, and the story was so much more than just the mystery.  It really focused heavily on this idea of the power of women.  Are they strong in their own way or are they helpless?  It was really cool and inspiring to read that.  And unexpected.  I wasn’t expecting a mystery (and a murder mystery at that) to go into that.

Britt is a really interesting character.  She’s best friends with a girl who treats her more like a frenemy than a bestie, which I had trouble understanding why she’d be friends with her in that case.  But that’s me.  Britt’s strong, but she doesn’t really know she’s strong because she’s always been told she’s weak.  I thought that was really relatable because I think a lot of girls have been conditioned that way.  I was really rooting for her after I was able to grasp onto that.

Even though I figured out the mystery early, I still thought it was thrilling and fun.  There are all kinds of curveballs that get thrown in.  Even when you know something, you don’t.  I loved finding each new twist to change my perspective on who was guilty and who wasn’t.

A fun mystery.  It’s been a while since I’ve read a straight-up thriller/suspense book, and while it’s no longer my favorite genre (as it was when I was 12-13), I still really enjoyed this.

One thought on “Black Ice

  1. I really do love this genre and this was a good book. I did find the two girls friendship a little annoying but since the “best friend” wasn’t in it that much, it was easy to put up with. I have not read anything else by this author, I found it interesting and exciting. I would read more from her. Nice review. 🙂

Leave a Reply

