Spotlight Friday (137)

Hello my lovelies!  I know what you’re thinking.  “What IS this?  A Spotlight on back-to-back Fridays?  Is the world ending?”  Hardy-har-har.  I’ve been actually madly productive the last couple of days as the reality sets in that school starts up again in less than two weeks.  WHERE DID SUMMER GO?  So to combat that, let’s think happy thoughts about new books.

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Release Date: September 1, 2015

Summary (from Goodreads): My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

What’s To Like: I’m really excited for this book because it’s one of those what if stories.  Where something is taken to the extreme and played with.  With this story, I’m really looking forward to how the main character deals with her allergies and virtual imprisonment.  Also?  I have a huge weakness for boys named Oliver/Olly.

Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between by Jennifer E. Smith

Release Date: September 1, 2015

Summary (from Goodreads): On the night before they leave for college, Clare and Aidan only have one thing left to do: figure out whether they should stay together or break up. Over the course of twelve hours, they’ll retrace the steps of their relationship, trying to find something in their past that might help them decide what their future should be. The night will lead them to friends and family, familiar landmarks and unexpected places, hard truths and surprising revelations. But as the clock winds down and morning approaches, so does their inevitable goodbye. The question is, will it be goodbye for now or goodbye forever?

What’s To Like: This book is going to be cute and rough emotionally, I can feel it already.  It is so hard to be in a relationship with someone and clinically review your whole relationship and whether or not it’s going to work from this point on.  It’s a bittersweet pain, really, and i hope some of that makes its way into the story.  Smith usually does a good job of writing interesting characters who connect on a real level.  I’m interested to see where this book goes.

Lock & Mori (Lock & Mori, #1) by Heather W. Petty

Release Date: September 15, 2015

Summary (from Goodreads): In modern-day London, two brilliant high school students, one Sherlock Holmes and a Miss James “Mori” Moriarty, meet. A murder will bring them together. The truth very well might drive them apart.

Before they were mortal enemies, they were much more.

FACT: Someone has been murdered in London’s Regent’s Park. The police have no leads.

FACT: Miss James “Mori”Moriarty and Sherlock “Lock” Holmes should be hitting the books on a school night. Instead, they are out crashing a crime scene.

FACT: Lock has challenged Mori to solve the case before he does. Challenge accepted.

FACT: Despite agreeing to Lock’s one rule–they must share every clue with each other–Mori is keeping secrets.

OBSERVATION: Sometimes you can’t trust the people closest to you with matters of the heart. And after this case, Mori may never trust Lock again.

What’s To Like: You had me at modern day Sherlock Holmes.  I’m kind of obsessed with Sherlock after the BBC series and I’m giddy over this.  Moriarty as a girl?  In love with Sherlock?  Oh, this is going to be magnificent.  It’s like watching a Disney villain go from good to bad.  Don’t hyperventilate don’t hyperventilate don’t hyperventilate…

3 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday (137)

Leave a Reply

