My Top 11 Most Read Authors

Hey guys!  As school looms in the horizon, I find myself wanting to post more and more.  (And I feel really bad about not updating as much because of my crippling addiction to Outlander this summer…)  I’ve been thinking this one over for a while, and I thought it would be a good (and realistic) view of what I actually do read in my spare time.  Hint: it’s not all YA…but the vast majority is.

1. Richelle Mead – 18

I’ve been reading Richelle Mead since I was probably a junior in high school.  (Sad fact: that was 6-7 years ago)  But I’ve been a fan ever since.  If I wasn’t reading Vampire Academy, then I was reading Bloodlines or her adult series, Dark Swan or the Georgina Kincaid series.  There’s just something about her writing that always brings me back.  A lot of the time, I can count on her humor to make me giggle while reading in public.

A Favorite Quote: “No one had ever called me unnatural before, except for the time I put ketchup on a taco. But seriously, we’d been out of salsa, so what else was I supposed to do?” – Rose Hathaway, Blood Promise

(Tie) 2. Rachel Caine – 17

Ok, the Morganville Vampires series easily makes up for like, 90% of Rachel Caine’s numbers.  And I don’t regret that at all.  That series was worth it.  If it wasn’t the wacky, off-the-wall humor (Myrnin’s vampire bunny slippers?), it was the solid friendship between Claire, Eve, Michael, and Shane.  And the romance.  It was subtle, but it was swoon-worthy.  While I haven’t quite clicked with anything else Caine’s written, I’m definitely still trying to find the next winner.

A Favorite Quote: “That’s kind of a leap, but the Russian judge gave you a nine point five for style, so okay.” – Eve, Glass Houses

(Tie) 3. Rachel Vincent [noticing a trend with R names yet?] -17

I was (am?) a sucker for the Soul Screamers series to the point where I would single-mindedly look for novellas the instant I finished the book prior to it.  My goodness, that series ate my soul. (HA!)  But I also really enjoyed Vincent’s adult series, Shifters, and I’m practically giddy at the thought of reading her newest books (one of which I just picked up at the library!).

A Favorite Quote: “You’re the brightest thing I’ve ever seen, Kaylee. You’re this beautiful ball of fire spitting sparks out at the world, burning fiercely, holding back the dark by sheer will. And I always knew that if I reached out—if I tried to touch you—I’d get burned. Because you’re not mine. I’m not supposed to feel the fire. I’m not supposed to want it. But I do. I want you, Kaylee, like I’ve never wanted anything. Ever. I want the fire. I want the heat, and the light, and I want the burn.” – Tod, If I Die

4. William Shakespeare – 12

What list would be complete without the Bard?  This is somewhat a holdover from my college days as an English major, wherein I think I read at least 1 Shakespearean play per year.  (And my Shakespeare class seriously boosted those numbers.)  But I really do enjoy the intricacies of his plays.  I think I’ve read Romeo and Juliet at least 4 times and Hamlet 2-3 times.  But the comedies are really where it’s at.  I actually prefer some of his less well-known ones, like Love’s Labours Lost and Much Ado About Nothing and The Taming of the Shrew.  (Ok, those last two are actually really popular.)  Still, I’ll take the humor over the killing…most days.

A Favorite Quote: “Marry, sir, they have committed false report; moreover, they have spoken untruths; secondarily, they are slanders; sixth and lastly, they have belied a lady; thirdly, they have verified unjust things; and, to conclude, they are lying knaves.” – Dogberry, Much Ado About Nothing

5. Alyxandra Harvey – 11

I got hooked on the Drake Chronicles, I think in high school.  (I was a bit obsessed with vampires at the time, as were many other people, I hasten to add.)  What I love about Harvey’s writing is that she always writes something supernatural but with an emphasis on the characters.  It doesn’t matter if it’s vampires, ghosts, or ghoulies; you will fall for the main characters.  And she’s ungodly funny as well.  We think on the same wavelength, from our similar senses of humor to our fascination with the Regency and Victorian eras.

A Favorite Quote: “She craned her neck, glared at me through the small opening, and took a step back.  And then she kicked my door in.  Was it any wonder I was falling for her?” – Quinn, Out For Blood

6. Meg Cabot – 10

When it comes to Meg Cabot, I constantly jump around.  I’ll read some of this series, some of that.  The only one I’ve read completely through is the Abandon series, and we all know how much I love Greek mythology by this point.  But I’ve also read a few books in the Mediator series (which was fine) and most of the Airhead series (which was cool).  With her, I haven’t really jumped into her adult series, but I may someday.

A Favorite Quote: “In everyday life, we’re given a choice. Do the right thing, do nothing, or do the wrong thing. All too often, people choose to do nothing. And that’s all right. It’s easier. Sometimes it’s difficult to know what’s right and what’s wrong. But every so often, a few people choose to go out of their way to do the right thing” – Pierce, Awaken

7. Kimberly Derting – 9

I swear to Zeus (now that I’m thinking of Greek mythology) that I will continue to read Derting books until she stops writing them.  From The Body Finder series to the The Pledge and The Taking, I have yet to find a book of hers that I didn’t love.  Most of the time, I’m trying to decide which one I want to reread!  She’s a genius with characters and each series is so different, but still with a touch of supernatural to them.  I’m telling you, you’ll swoon over these boys.

A Favorite Quote: “I loved voices, I always had. Words held meaning, but voices held emotion.” – Charlie, The Pledge

(Tie) 8. Sarah MacLean – 8

And now we’ve hit the first of my romance novelists!  While I am not the most frequent of romance readers, I do enjoy a good Regency era romance, and Sarah MacLean was perhaps the first to truly show me how excellent historical romance could be.  (I first read her YA story, The Season, which is ridiculously good.)  Her writing is always clever with witty and engaging characters.  I cannot say enough good things about her.

A Favorite Quote: “I had a perfect life in my reach once, and it was a crashing bore. Perfect is too clean, too easy. I don’t want perfect any more than I want to be perfect. I want imperfect.”  – Penelope, A Rogue by Any Other Name

(Tie) 9. Tessa Dare – 8

And here’s the second historical romance novelist!  Tessa Dare pulled me in with her Spindle Cove series (which is hilarious and pretty feminist, as women basically control this town) and I’ve found myself interested in the Castles Ever After series as well.  While they aren’t always my favorite romance novels (her writing gets a bit predictable after the first few books), I find I cannot stop reading them because something always draws me back.  Like how the last Castles Ever After book is about a Highlander (!!) who is supposed to be imaginary but is actually quite real.  You don’t see that premise very often.

A Favorite Quote: “Cleverness is like rouge – liberal application makes a woman look common and desperate. Wit is knowing how to apply it.”  – Any Duchess Will Do

(Tie) 10. Kelley Armstrong – 8

We now return to our regularly scheduled programming of supernatural YA novels.  Kelley Armstrong is a friggin genius with her Darkest Powers and Darkness Rising series.  I laughed, I cried, I swooned.  Particularly with Darkest Powers.  Sometimes the toughest guys are the most endearing.

A Favorite Quote: “Derek caught my arm again as I started to move–at this rate, it was going to be as sore as my injured one.
“Dog,” he said, jerking his chin toward the fenced yard. “It was inside earlier.”
Expecting to see a Doberman slavering at the fence, I followed his gaze to a little puff of white fur, the kind of dog women stick in their purses. It wasn’t even barking, just staring at us, dancing in place.
“Oh, my God! It’s a killer Pomeranian.” I glanced up at Derek. “It’s a tough call, but I think you can take him.”  – Chloe and Derek, Awakening

(Tie) 11. Sarah Dessen – 8

What list would be complete without Sarah Dessen?  She’s spectacular.  While I haven’t read all of her books (I’m missing basically everything written before Just Listen), I’m a fan.  She writes heartbreaking but tender realistic fiction.  And she’s fantastic to follow on Twitter because she’s so honest.  She’s inspiring, whether it’s through her books or through her confessions.  I will be a solid fan for life.

A Favorite Quote: “I am coming to terms with the fact that loving someone requires a leap of faith, and that a soft landing is never guaranteed.”  – Remy, This Lullaby

One thought on “My Top 11 Most Read Authors

Leave a Reply

