Entice (The Violet Eden Chapters, #2)

First Lines: The angel had been ordered to make his choice.  It had to be of his own free will.  But what they asked of him carried a high price.  He would most likely never return.

It’s been a ridiculous 3 years since I read the first book in this series.  Why?  Because I could never, for the life of me, remember which book was the 2nd in the series.  I could stare at the cover for 10 minutes solid, go to the library, and immediately forget.  Honest to Zeus truth.

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

Violet wonders if she made the right choice in giving up her humanity.  Because being a Grigori is far from easy.  She doesn’t understand all her new powers yet, and worse, she’s not sure is capable of using them anyway.  But not matter what comes her way, she won’t run away or quit.  Even if it means pretending the guy she loves doesn’t love her back.  Even if it means asking an enemy for help.  With no one telling the truth, Violet is going to have to figure out a few things for herself.  Only…with both Exiles and Angels wanting her, who can she turn to for help?

For it having been so long since I read the first book, I was actually pretty surprised by how much I remembered of it.  It must have made an impression on me.

Even better, this book grabbed me quickly.  I sometimes have that issue with a long hiatus, where I no longer feel attached to these characters.  This book quickly got me reinvested in the storyline and the characters.  It was nice to not have to worry about that once I got rolling.

For me, Violet was a bit hard for me to follow sometimes.  Her thoughts seemed a little too dramatic and pessimistic.  I attribute this in part to not remembering a couple of specific life-altering events from the first book.  So that’s on me.  But still, she seemed a little off.

But really, every character in this story was awesome, even the ones you didn’t want to like.  Well developed, well characterized, and distinct in personality.  I was impressed by that.  It definitely helped the story a lot.

There was some heavy-handed foreshadowing in this book, which is really my own negative note.  And what I mean by “heavy-handed” is that at some points, it wasn’t even in the realm of subtle.  There were two things I spotted so early in the story that it was kind of ridiculous.  It just became a waiting game of when it would crop up.  (One was so obvious that I thought it had to be a fake-out…only it wasn’t.)  I wish the book had been more surprising than that.  It took some of the fun out of the story.

Overall, though, it’s a book with a great cast of characters and plenty of action.  Just don’t come looking for an epic love story or for major plot twists.

Leave a Reply

