Uninvited (Uninvited, #1)

First Lines: I always knew I was different.  When I was three years old, I sat down at the piano and played Chopin.  Mom claims I heard it the week before in a hotel elevator.  I don’t know where I heard it.  I just knew how to place my fingers on the keys…how to make them move.

Sometimes, there’s a book that just strikes you, you know?  Like it all comes together in a perfect storm that makes you just want to read it.  For me, it was this: perfect cover, interesting blurb, and simple fascination with the plot.

Davy Hamilton has been known as many things: musical prodigy, girlfriend of the most popular boy in school, geek.  Never did she expect to be known as a killer…especially when she hasn’t killed anyone!  But Davy is a carrier of HTS–Homicidal Tendency Syndrome.  She may not have killed anyone yet, but the test says she will.  No one knows how to act around her anymore.  The only person she can turn to is Sean, a fellow HTS carrier.  She’s not sure if she can trust him, but maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems.  Or maybe she’s just as deadly.

Holy Zeus, this was the most frustrating book I’ve read in ages.  (And I mean that in a good way!  I’ll explain soon.)  It’s been quite some time since a book as made me feel this confused, hopeless, and helpless.  There were times I truly wanted to take out my frustration by punching a wall or pulling out my hair.

Why, then, do I say it’s a good thing this was so frustrating?  Because it means the writing is fantastic.  I mean, from like the 2nd chapter, I was Davy.  There was no separation between me and her.  We were the same…when I could actually handle my frustration long enough to read the book.

There was so much that was frustrating.  As soon as someone is labeled as having the “kill gene”, they are isolated from everyone they know and their lives ripped away from them.  They are treated as subhumans.  If they make even the most innocuous remark (“I’d kill for a cheeseburger!” or “Are you looking for a knuckle sandwich?”) or the most innocent gesture that could be taken as a threat, they are immediately labeled as dangerous killers and tattooed to show how dangerous they are. It was so frustrating that any expression of emotion could be construed as a threat.  And there were a lot of emotions swirling around in me and in Davy that needed to be expressed.

Davy was the perfect heroine for this book.  In the beginning, she’s a model citizen: an A student and a prodigy accepted to Julliard.  She’s normal.  And then HTS happens.  Her friends abandon her, her rights as an American citizen are revoked, and that life she had planned for herself is now completely gone.  She was really easy to sympathize with.  And even when everything shattered around her, she still retained her strength.

Sean was definitely an interesting character to throw into the mix.  He’s very mysterious and secretive, but there was something about him that I tended to like right from the get-go.  I’m interested in seeing more of him in the next book.

Overall, it was a very gripping read.  Just be prepared to feel outrage on Davy’s behalf!

Leave a Reply

