Ignite Me (Shatter Me, #3)

First Lines: I am an hourglass.  My seventeen years have collapsed and buried me from the inside out.

When it comes to finishing a series, I kind of suck.  I walked passed this in the library for weeks before I was finally like, “You know, I should probably just read this now before I forget even more about the previous book.”

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

With Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know about the fate of her friends and Adam.  Her heart is broken, but she’s determined to avenge them.  And this time, she’s going to destroy the Reestablishment once and for all.  But her only ally is Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45 and the one person she never thought she could trust…though he did save her life.  He promises to help her achieve her goal and save their country, but that’s not all he wants from her…

This was actually probably the cutest book in this series.  Not that I disliked the other books, but this was like, on a new level.

The writing style of this series is just so unique and I love it.  It’s almost stream of consciousness and I find myself racing through the pages just to keep up with Juliette’s thoughts.  And she always has the best imagery, like in the first lines when she compares herself to an hourglass.  Or this one later in the book about being a skeletal pile of bones with a beating heart.  The English nerd in me rejoices.

Like I said, this is probably my favorite in the series because it’s so cute and emotional.  There are so many emotions that come out in this one, and I love when they’re touching like that.

There’s an amazing twist in this book that I didn’t really see coming.  I mean, there are hints in the previous books, but I never actually thought it would happen!  But I loved it.  And the theme of second chances was brilliantly done.

The characters are amazing, as always.  Juliette is stronger than ever, Kenji is hilarious, and even Adam and Warner are at their prime.

Overall, it was a fantastic conclusion to this series.  I’m very happy with the way it ended.

3 thoughts on “Ignite Me (Shatter Me, #3)

  1. Pingback: One Lovely Blog Award | Once upon a bookshelf…

Leave a Reply

