The Fill-In Boyfriend

First Lines: In some part of my brain, probably the logical part that seemed to be missing at the moment, I knew I should let go and walk away, maintain some of my dignity.  Instead, I gripped his waist more securely by wrapping my arms around him and pressed my cheek against his chest.  Logic was definitely not ruling my brain right now.

After all the sci-fi and more actiony reads I’ve read recently, I needed something normal and cute.  Kasie West seemed like a safe bet for that.

For months, Gia has been looking forward to prom and introducing her college boyfriend, Bradley, to her friends.  She planned everything out…except for the part where Bradley dumps her in the parking lot right before prom.  She needs a new plan, stat.  She quickly enlists the help of a cute boy dropping off his sister.  It’s simple: be her pretend boyfriend for a couple of hours and then she can win back Bradley.  Only…after prom, it isn’t the real Bradley she can’t stop thinking about.  She doesn’t even know his name!  But tracking him down doesn’t mean they’re done pretending.  Gia owes him a favor and his sister intends to collect: his ex-girlfriend’s graduation party and then they can go their separate ways.  When Gia begins to think that she wants something real with this pretend boyfriend, Bradley comes back into her life in a move that exposes her lie and threatens to destroy her friendships and new relationship.

As for the premise, it’s cute.  I liked the idea of using a fill-in boyfriend to move this story along.  I mean, there’s not a whole lot to this plot that’s surprising.  It’s pretty much a standard rom-com, which is both a positive and a negative thing.  It’s positive because it’s pretty much exactly what I was looking for, but I say negative because it was just…cute.  Like, I wanted something more.

At the beginning of the story, I didn’t really like Gia.  She was the kind of mean girl I tried to avoid in school, the kind who cared more about her looks and social status than the people she stepped on to get there.  But she does change throughout the story, thankfully.

I really liked all the characters in this story.  I mean everyone from “Fill-in Bradley” (who shall remain nameless!) to Bec and her family.  Even if you didn’t like the characters, you could still appreciate how well-written they were.

The story was fun and a little bit emotional.  Overall, it’s a cute read with great characters.

2 thoughts on “The Fill-In Boyfriend

Leave a Reply

