The Heartbreakers (The Heartbreaker Chronicles, #1)

First Lines: Cara was clutching the latest edition of People as if it were the Holy Bible.  “If I didn’t have you bring me magazines,” she said, “I’d go stir crazy locked up in this place.”  “I had to fight off some soccer mom for the last copy,” I told her.  And I was serious.

I’m a sucker for books about normal people mixing with celebrities.  I’m really not into the celebrity lifestyle or anything (I hate their reality shows and couldn’t care less about Kim Kardashian), but something about their stories draws me in.  Or it has to do with hot musicians.  You know what?  I’m changing my answer.  I’m a sucker for hot musicians.

Stella will do anything for her sister Cara…even if it means sacrificing her dignity to stand in line for hours waiting for the Heartbreakers (a band she hates) to sign a CD for Cara.  At least while she’s waiting in line she can daydream about the cute boy she met at Starbucks that morning.  Only that daydream turns into a nightmare when she realizes that cute boy is actually Oliver Perry, the lead singer of The Heartbreakers.  Talk about mortifying.  But maybe there’s more to Oliver than his worldly charm and charisma.  Because even after she insults his music, he gives her his number.  What?  Still, Stella doesn’t feel like she can get into a relationship with Oliver…not when her sister may be dying of cancer.

So, a little backstory on this, I guess this was first published on Wattpad before being picked up for actual publication.  Which is pretty cool.

Anywho, I knew going into this book that I was going to get something cute and fun.  Right?  But I started getting really concerned 60-70 pages in when it seemed like it was going to be nothing but fluff and instalove.  I was so heartbroken that it was going to be a disappointment.  (Ha!  Get it?  Heartbroken over the Heartbreakers?  I crack myself up.)  I mean, in that chunk of pages, Stella mostly felt like an idiot for making a moron of herself in front of the band and the boys partaking in wild antics that I’m not even sure real rockstars get into.  (But hey, what do I know about the rockstar lifestyle?  I’m a teacher.  I got to bed before 10:30.)

Mercifully, as the story continued, it was less fluffy.  It took a turn for the more serious.  Cara’s cancer was a big part of that.  The cancer was that dose of realism Stella needed when she got sucked into the whirlwind that was the Heartbreakers.  But Stella also struggles a lot with a few things.  She lets fear run her life.  And the boys are dealing with a lot of problems of their own.

Ok, now the boys really are all adorable.  They do come across as a One Direction style group, though, which was something I wasn’t quite anticipating when the book kept throwing around the word “rockstar”.  But they were funny and charming.  I certainly have my favorite of the bunch (and it wasn’t Oliver), so we’ll have to see if a later book in the series focuses on my favorite.  (cough Alec cough)

I thought the characters were relatable, but it did take me a while to warm up to Stella.  She comes across as harsh and witchy in the beginning, given her hatred of the band.  But when you get past that stuff, she becomes real.  She’s anxious about everything, and she’s got a lot of huge decisions to make.

Overall, you really just have to get past the beginning of this book to like it.  If you can handle that, it gets pretty adorable.  But the beginning is rough at times.

One thought on “The Heartbreakers (The Heartbreaker Chronicles, #1)

  1. This is a really great review! I think I need something cute (but not too fluffy- I think I can live with the beginning) pretty soon here. I’m falling in my reading! Oh well. Just another book to add to the never ending TBR….
    -Amy

Leave a Reply

