Blogger-Thon Interview

Picture

Hello friends!  A few months ago, I signed up for something called a Blogger-Thon put on by Bemused Bookworm, where bloggers could interview each other and kind of share experiences in the hopes of making new friends.  It’s been a really cool experience and I’m here to share with you my interview with Heather from Random Redheaded Ramblings.  While she doesn’t read near as much YA as I do, she’s certainly read a lot of awesome stuff!  If you like what you see here, I encourage you to head over to her website and check her out.

(Also, my interview should be posted soon on Book YAbber, courtesy of Elizabeth.  Keep on the lookout for it!)

On to Heather’s interview!

Belle: What author have you read the most books from?  Why?
Heather: It would probably have to be JD Robb, I have read about thirty of her In Death novels! She is yet to release a bad book in this series.
Belle: E-reader or physical books?
Heather: A couple of years ago I would have told you I would never have a Kindle but I got one for my birthday and I very quickly got hooked.  The downside of Kindles is that I am now on my third, they are not built to last.  I still love physical books and nothing gives me the warm and fuzzies more that seeing a series on my shelf!
Belle: What was an important moment in your reading life?
Heather: Reading The Hobbit in English in secondary school (high school), through that I read the Lord of the Rings and that encouraged me to read out with my comfort zone.
Belle: What are three of your all-time favorite books?
Heather: I could cheat and say The Lord of the Rings in its three parts but I better count that as one choice, the second would be Wool by Hugh Howey it really blew me away and the third would be Ready Player One, I loved that book it is just a great read and being a child of the 80’s I loved all the references.
Belle: What are some series (book or otherwise) that you are a fangirl of?
Heather: OOooo, well to name a few – Firefly, Star Wars, Disney, Discworld, Doctor Who, Supernatural, Wool, LOTR, Game of Thrones, Walking Dead, Battlestar Galactica, JD Robb’s In Death series, Harry Potter, Parks and Rec, Marvel, not many!!!!
Belle: Favorite new author you discovered this year?
Heather: Patrick W Marsh, the author of the Greenland Diaries, his book is scary as anything and an amazing read.
Belle: Best book from a genre outside of your comfort zone?
Heather: I never been a huge fan of biographies but this year having read Tina Fey and Mindy Kaling’s my mind is changed, these are such funny reads!
Belle: What is the most thought-provoking/life-changing book you’ve read?  (This year or ever.)
Heather: Ever, it would have to be The Lord of the Rings, when I first read it I was totally blown away by the maps, this whole new world that Tolkien had created.  I wanted to find out more about Middle Earth, its inhabitants, their lives, it is just such an immense creation.
This year it would have to be Felicia Day’s I’m never weird on the internet, she is the queen of all things geek and she is such an icon, she is truly inspirational as when she puts her mind to something she does it.  I just felt after reading it I could do anything!!
Belle: Best blogging moment this year?
Heather: Cheesy I know but blogging just makes me happy all the time, I finally got more confident in leaving comments on other blogs this year and I have discovered so many great blogs out there, and in turn they have inspired me so much!  The best part is getting comments on my blog, it means so much that people come visit my wee corner of the blogosphere!
Non-cheesy it would have to be get a personalised signed book from Lisa Dickenson one of my fave chick lit authors or any time someone I love RT’s or Favourites my tweet.
Belle: What sequel or series finale are you most looking forward to?
Heather: The third book in Justin Cronin’s The Passage series and Stiletto the sequel to The Rook by Daniel O’Malley.
Belle: Favorite book-to-movie adaptation?
Heather: Can I make it book to tv? Movies tend to condense so much! My vote would be Game of Thrones, the tv show is brilliant but I wish GRR Martin would hurry up and write the next book!
Belle: Favorite classic novel?
Heather: Pride and Prejudice, it has Mr Darcy in it, that is reason enough for me!
Belle: What book do you wish you could live in?
Heather: I would say Middle Earth but those Black Riders and Sauron could be a problem, The silos of Wool fascinate me too but again that doesn’t end well so I would probably go with my favourite books from when I was little, Enid Blyton’s Famous Five! They always had such a marvellous time, they ate super food and they didn’t have to worry about lack of WiFi or nowhere to charge your phone!  Discworld would also be fun, it is crazy!
Belle: What is your least favorite/most overused plot device?
Heather: As a massive dystopian fan it would have to be the well overused kickass (who was a princess  pre-apoc) girl in apocalyptic world, she is the only person who can stop evil tyrant/government/general bad dudes and she falls in love with soldier/boy from wrong side of tracks/guy she wouldn’t normally look twice at whilst dealing with absent parents/siblings.
Belle: Favorite quote?
Heather: Not all those who wander are lost – Tolkien
Belle: Biggest bookworm/nerd/geek moment?
Heather: Getting RT’d by Neil Gaiman was pretty awesome and a tweet from Hugh Howey was amazing!
Belle: Why did you start blogging?
Heather: I started off as a food blog as I was (and still am) a heavy user of Pinterest, I had came across as lot of great food sites and they inspired me to start a blog but I quickly realised that taking food photos is hard work and what the heck was I doing trying to be a food blog when book where much more important.  Blogging is my way of trying to meet other like minded souls who love what I love and I think I have succeeded so far! I love it, it can be hard work and I do get some weeks where I get a slump but I wouldn’t change anything!

Belle: Thanks Heather!

One thought on “Blogger-Thon Interview

Leave a Reply

