A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)

a-court-of-thorns-and-rosesFirst Lines: The forest had become a labyrinth of snow and ice.  I’d been monitoring the parameters of the thicket for an hour, and my vantage point in the crook of a tree branch had turned useless.

I had heard so many good things about this that I couldn’t pass it up.  Also, it’s been a while since I’ve read a story about Fae.  What wasn’t to like?

In the depths of winter, 19 year old Feyre’s wish is just to survive.  So killing a huge wolf–who provides food and money from his fur–seems like a Godsend.  That is, until a beast-like creature shows up demanding retribution.  He drags Feyre to a land she’s only heard about in nightmarish tales of Fae and monsters.  But it’s there that Feyre discovers this beast is a Fae named Tamlin–a lethal immortal.  The longer Feyre stays with Tamlin, the more she starts to thaw toward him and his icy demeanor.  But an ancient shadow hangs over the land, cursing Tamlin and those Feyre has come to care about.  Can a human possibly stand a chance of saving her new home?

Feyre is a great lead for this book.  She’s strong and independent, but also hardened by the hardships of her life.  She’s stubborn, but also fierce and loyal.  She doesn’t always make the right decisions, but she tries.

The minor characters were also fantastic.  Tamlin, yes, but I had a soft-spot for his best friend, Lucien, who was definitely wearing his sassy pants the whole time.  I actually probably ended up liking him more than I liked Tamlin.  Tamlin was hard to get a read on, but you always knew where you stood with Lucien.

The funny thing when I was reading this was how I slowly started recognizing the plot.  I think by the time I was in chapter 2 or 3, I was thinking to myself, “Huh, this is extraordinarily like Beauty and the Beast.”  Halfway through the story, I was utterly convinced.  You can’t talk me out of it.  Whether it’s coincidence or not, I also saw elements of the Greek myth of Cupid and Psyche here as well, which happens to be one of my favorite myths.  Could this combo be any better?

So…I want to explain my rating of this a little.  I’m giving it a 4–a high four.  But why not a 5?  I was missing something emotionally from the story, something to really get me invested in the story.  Oh sure, I loved Feyre.  But Tamlin…I struggled with him.  I felt a little something between him and Feyre, but it really wasn’t enough for me.  Like I said, Mr. Sassy Pants Lucien was more the character for me.  I understood him.

Definitely a book worth checking out.  Like now.

3 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)

  1. There are just some books that even though it is really good, like, you love the character and the plot and everything, but you’re reluctant to give it a 5 out of 5. I felt that way too! Maybe it’s because of lack of emotional attachment to the character? Or lack of similarity? When I’m in that scenario, I always think that it’s because of the connection between me and the character. Nevertheless, great review! 🙂

Leave a Reply

