Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy, #1)

vampireacademyrichellemead1First Lines: I felt her fear before I heard her screams.  Her nightmare pushed into me, shaking me out of my own dreams, which had had something to do with a beach and some hot guy rubbing suntan oil on me.

I know that I cannot be the only one this happens to: I watched the movie for this book and it reminded me of how awesome the series is and I’m now in the process of rereading the whole thing.  And seeing as I got started on this series in 2007 (4 years before I started this blog), then there are no reviews for it.  THIS IS A CRIME!

(I’m going to make this better than yesterday’s plot description.)  As a Moroi princess, Lissa Dragomir needs constant protection from the dangerous of bad vampires called Strigoi…as well as protection things like catty high school girls.  Good thing her best friend Rose, a mix of Moroi and human called a dhampir, is there to protect her.  She’s dedicating her life to protecting Lissa, but who says there can’t be perks involved in guarding your best friend?  After two years on the run, Lissa and Rose are brought back to St. Vladimir’s Academy in Montana, their school.  But being back does not mean that they are safe.  There are dangers inside that no one saw coming…

This was my 4th time reading this book and I tell ya, I still love it.  It’s magical.  I love the characters, everyone from the obvious to the minor characters.  I’ve said it once before on here, but I’m going to say it again: Rose Hathaway is my spirit animal.

Alright, I’m going to try to cool it on my fangirling a little and just tell you what makes this book so spectacular.  “Try” being the key word here.  I already feel a fail coming on.

So the characters are just so well written.  Rose is this snarky, sassy fighter who really does enjoy speaking with her fists rather than her words.  You know in two minutes that she has attitude.  But she’s also go this soft side that comes out around Lissa (and later around Dimitri, her older instructor who is fierce and hot and totally swoon-worthy).  And you can just feel how Lissa is scrambling to find a way to stand on her own two feet without Rose being next to her every minute.

But admittedly, the best part of this book is the tension between Rose and Dimitri.  There’s so much that should keep them apart: their jobs as Lissa’s guardians, their age gap (7 years), his role as instructor and hers as student, and more.  But there’s still just something that when you see them together, you want them to be together.  They fit.

The plot is always interesting as well.  If it’s not high school drama like catty girls and a vicious rumor mill, then it’s vampire drama or actual fights.  There is always something going on.

And I tell you, some of the best quotes come from this book.  Here’s one of my favorites (though I have many):

“Oh, so that’s why you’re up here. For a pity party.”

“This isn’t a joke. I’m serious.” I could tell Lissa was getting angry. It was trumping her earlier distress.

He shrugged and leaned casually against the sloping wall. “So am I. I love pity parties. I wish I’d brought the hats. What do you want to mope about first? How it’s going to take you a whole day to be popular and loved again? How you’ll have to wait a couple weeks before Hollister can ship out some new clothes? If you spring for rush shipping, it might not be so long.”

Seriously.  This series is the bomb, even if vampires aren’t cool right now.  Richelle Mead will hook you and then never let go.

One thought on “Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy, #1)

Leave a Reply

