Shadow Kissed (Vampire Academy, #3)

shadowkissFirst Lines: His fingertips slid along my back, applying hardly any pressure, yet sending shock waves over my flesh.

For those of you who are getting kind of sick of my Vampire Academy posts, I have two things to say: 1) *in my best Gretchen Weiners voice* I’m sorry that you’re jealous, but I can’t help that they’re so good. And 2) Ok, really, we’re almost done with them.  This is the halfway point in the series and I did manage to slip something else in with all the VA.  That’s for tomorrow.

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

Until now, Rose had thought that the toughest struggles were coming from without: Strigio attacks, the struggle to keep her feelings for Dimitri hidden, and trying not to beat up catty high schoolers.  But now, now Rose isn’t so sure.  A darkness has settled over Rose, one that she can’t shake…and may be making her crazy.  She’s a loose cannon of aggression and snap, dangerous decisions.  (Although, to be fair, that was kind of her MO before this.)  However, seeing ghosts…not normal.  Possibly a sign of insanity.  Rose is fairly sure she’s not crazy, but when no one seems to be believing her, could it be possible that she’s…well, losing it?  Or is something more going on and Rose is the only one who can stop it?

Bar none (so far), this is my favorite book in the series.  While I’ve only officially reread it 3 times now, I have reread certain scenes (*cough* cabin *cough*) multiple times.  For me, this is one of the most emotional books in the whole series.

Honestly, this is Rose at her finest.  No, she may not be at her snarkiest, most powerful, or smartest, but this book has something the other books lack in this quantity: her vulnerability.  This is Rose at her most vulnerable.  When everyone around you assumes you’re going crazy (and honestly, you kind of are starting to believe it yourself), how do you prove to them that you’re not?  This, as well as Rose’s growing feelings for Dimitri, her trust issues, and her constant fear of losing everything make this one of the more heartbreaking books in the series.

The plot is also stellar.  The ghost aspect is new to the series at this point, and it’s incorporated well and believably.  Plus, there are some great twists that come from unexpected happenstances, like something involving Queen Tatiana that just makes me giggle every time.  But there are also truly heartbreaking twists as well.  I will repeat from yesterday: DAT ENDING.

The more I keep reading this series, the more I remember just how much I love Rose.  It’s not even for the romance angle (though there is that).  I just truly adore Rose’s strength, tenacity, and bravery.  She’s the kind of person who says what everyone else is too afraid to say.  She’ll be the first to jump into a fight if it means protecting someone who can’t protect themselves. She’s admirable.  I know I’ve said before that I relate to Sydney better, but Rose is the kind of person I want to be.  …Even if she’s usually associated with stupidity after most of her stunts.

Anyway, this series is boss.  Only 3 more books to go!

Oh, and I nearly forgot the awesome quote to go along with this one!  Let me pick…Ok, courtesy of Rose, of course:

“And I thought the whole point of my education was that violence IS the answer.”

 

3 thoughts on “Shadow Kissed (Vampire Academy, #3)

Leave a Reply

