Not If I See You First

notifiseeyoufirstFirst Lines: My alarm buzzes and I slap it off and tap the speech button at the same time.  Stephen Hawking says, “Five-fifty-five AM.”  Just double checking, like always.

We interrupt our regularly scheduled Vampire Academy marathon to bring you something not written by Richelle Mead.  My kiddos at school are in the middle of standardized testing, which means a lot of down time for me to just sit and read.  I brought this as something to read once I got done with Shadow Kissed and thought it looked interesting.

If there’s one thing that infuriates Parker, it’s breaking her rules.  They’re there for a reason.  And that reason is that she’s blind, but not stupid.  So don’t take advantage of her, don’t start talking to her or touching her without appropriate warning, and definitely don’t betray her trust.  She will not give you a second chance.  Just ask Scott Kilpatrick, her ex-best friend.  But when Scott suddenly returns to Parker’s life, she reacts the only way she knows how: pretend he doesn’t exist.  Besides, she’s got enough going on in her life dealing with the death of her father three months ago, trying out for the track team (just because her eyes don’t work doesn’t mean her legs don’t!), and giving free–and sometimes unwanted–advice to her classmates.  As Parker learns more about what happened with Scott and her dad’s death, she starts to see that maybe rules are meant to be broken…

I first became interested in this book from the cover.  I didn’t understand at first why it looked the way it did.  (After learning that it was about blindness, the braille made a whole lot more sense.)  But I also really wanted to see how a book would work with a blind narrator.  I don’t think I’ve read one of those before.

And really, it was pretty interesting.  Parker is not the kind of girl you expect her to be.  She’s selfish, arrogant, and something of a Queen B (and the B doesn’t stand for blind).  There are times when you really want to say something to her about being so rude to those close to her.  But then you see how loyal she is to her friends and just how much she fights every day to keep her attitude positive.  That helped even things out.

I was totally fascinated by how the world around her was described.  I’m so used to authors describing a physical environment and people that I wasn’t sure how this could work.  But, as always, there is a way.  Most of her life is described through sound and touch.  And really, after some initial shock, I actually forgot about how different her worldview was from mine.  She was just another teenager with problems, like nearly every other narrator I read about.

I don’t exactly know how to explain the plot of this book.  I mean, there is a plot, but there’s nothing that I can sit back and go, “It’s about this.”  There’s obviously the stuff about dealing with Scott and her dad, but even that doesn’t really sum up the book.  It felt a little aimless while I was reading it, but maybe that’s because I didn’t know where it was headed?  I don’t know.

I enjoyed this, but mostly because Parker was so different and interesting.

Leave a Reply

