Blood Promise (Vampire Academy, #4)

blood-promiseFirst Lines: Once when I was in ninth grade, I had to write a paper on a poem.  One of the lines was, “If your eyes weren’t open, you wouldn’t know the difference between dreaming and waking.”  It hadn’t meant much to me at the time.

We are over halfway done with this VA takeover!  The best part about this is that this book, Blood Promise, is where I hit the books that I’ve only read once.  So from this point on, more of the story is fuzzy for me.  I was quite excited to see what I’d forgotten.

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

The attack on St. Vladimir’s has devastated many, Moroi and dhampir alike.  With so many lives lost, it would be impossible to simply forget about it.  But for Rose, it’s not just impossible to forget; it’s impossible to move on.  One of the victims was Dimitri Belikov, the man Rose loves.  Now, he’s been turned Strigoi and Rose knows it’s her responsibility to hunt him down before he does too much damage…because alive or undead, Dimitri is a god.  She’ll have to go to the ends of the earth to keep her promise to him.  But when the time comes, will he want to be saved?

This is the legitimate turning point in the series.  The first books are more light-hearted, more about high school life and teenage drama.  But this one?  This one goes dark.  Big time.  Thankfully, though, it does still retain its sense of humor.  Gotta love Rose’s ability to turn everything into a joke, whether it’s appropriate or not.

What I was most excited about with rereading this book was the introduction of two of the more awesome characters in this series: Sydney Sage (of Bloodlines fame) and the ever-entertaining Abe Mazur.  It’s so funny to read about Sydney again, knowing what I know about her from the spin-off series.  Her habits are still all here.  It’s still 100% Sydney, and that’s party of what makes Richelle Mead a genius of an author.  And Abe just steals every scene he’s in, creepy Mafia-type that he is.  (I kind of love him.)

But there are so many great things that happen character-wise in this book.  Rose goes through so much change as she battles the darkness inside of her from her grief and guilt about Dimitri.  And Dimitri…it’s eerie.  He’s Dimitri, but he’s not.  I like to equate this to Sam Winchester of Supernatural, in those times when you know he’s Sam but he’s also not?  OH, HE’S SOULLESS SAM!  That’s it!  BOOM!

….*ahem*

The plot is gripping.  There’s a lot of build-up to the ending and it’s gloriously done.  The ending of this book is something I’ve never completely forgotten, even 6-7 years later.  I knew what was going to happen and I awaited it eagerly.  It’s so pivotal to the series.

The only real strike I have against this book is its pacing.  Even though it does have suspense and action and a lot of tension, it just moves so slow at the beginning.  I constantly struggle with balancing all the character development with my thirst for action.  Obviously, there has to be some give and take.  It’s just…there’s a lot of waiting in this book.  And part of that comes from Rose constantly looking in on Lissa.  It’s boring.  I really don’t care what’s going on with Lissa when I want to see what Rose does next.

Let’s wrap this up with a delightful Rose Hathaway quote:

Okay, God, I thought. Get me out of this and I’ll stop my half-assed church-going ways. You got me past a pack of Strigoi tonight. I mean, trapping that one between the doors really shouldn’t have worked, so clearly you’re on board. Let me get out of here, and I’ll…I don’t know. Donate Adrian’s money to the poor. Get baptized. Join a convent. Well, no. Not that last one.”

(That quote actually made my school notebook for a couple of years because it made me laugh so much.)

3 thoughts on “Blood Promise (Vampire Academy, #4)

Leave a Reply

