Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy, #5)

spirit_boundFirst Lines: There’s a big difference between death threats and love letters–even if the person writing the death threats still claims to actually love you.  Of course, considering I once tried to kill someone I loved, maybe I had no right to judge.

First of all, let me just say that this is my favorite VA cover.  Talk about hawt.  The dude’s scruff, the girl’s hair…oh my gosh I have a girl crush on this girl’s hair…and her make up…

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead* (The snark is simply a bonus.)

After battling her old flame in a dangerous fight that nearly killed both of them, Rose returns to St. Vladimir’s and Lissa.  Though it’s nearly graduation, Rose can’t find the same joy in it she used to.  Life outside of school?  It can’t compare to the life she once imagined with Dimitri, with both of them as Lissa’s guardians.  But she knows he’s out there, somewhere.  Waiting.  Hunting her.  Her worst fears become real when she realizes that her failed attempt to kill Dimitri is now causing more destruction than she could have ever imagined…

I feel a bit like a broken record (of which I’ve never actually seen, having been born in the age of the cassette tape), but the characters in this series…oh the characters!  God, how I love them.  What’s fabulous about this book is, again, how Rose grows so much.  We’re used to Rose being funny and living on the line between sane and have-you-lost-your-mind?!, but the stakes (*snort* no pun intended) are so much higher here.  Her actions have more extreme consequences.  And it feels so much more real because those consequences aren’t just detention anymore.  Sometimes, those consequences mean death.

Actually, one of the most interesting characters this time around is Lissa.  She goes from being timid but loyal to being strong and determined.  Her transformation was actually one of my favorite things about this book because she’s always just been Rose’s best friend/sidekick until now.  Now, she steps it up and I respect her for that.

Of course, there are returning characters that are just delightful.  Abe Mazur.  Soulless Dimitri.  Adrian.  Queen Tatiana, the royal B.  Christian Ozera.  MIKHAIL TANNER.  Even Janine Hathaway can spark some interesting feelings.

I noted this in my original review of this book 7 years ago, but I spend the end of this book just giggling like crazy.  The first half is definitely all about consequences, but then it’s like Rose just decides to throw caution to the wind and blurt out anything and everything she’s thinking.  It’s hilarious.  While it may not exactly be described as “feel good,” it’s definitely more light-hearted than some of the previous books.

How funny is it?  Let’s check in with Rose and Adrian:

“Damn it,” I muttered.

“What?” asked Adrian.

“I hate when you’re the sane one. That’s my job.”

“Rose,” he said, forcibly trying to keep a serious tone, “I can think of many words to describe you, sexy and hot being at the top of the list. You know what’s not on the list? Sane.”

The plot is great.  There are a few twists you’re going to see coming (and some of those are ones you’ve been hoping for!), but some you’d never expect.  And that’s what I love.  The surprises bring out the best in Rose.

I think this one is at least my 2nd favorite book in this series.

Leave a Reply

