Pivot Point (Pivot Point, #1)

pivot-point-westFirst Lines: “Heads up,” a loud voice called from my right.  I looked up just in time to see a football smack me right right between the eyes.

I’m a total Kasie West fan for her contemporary romances.  I loved On The Fence and The Distance Between Us.  So I thought, hey, maybe I’d check out her debut novel, even though it’s a sci-fi.  It has to be full of yummy romance scenes, right?

Addison’s life is full of possibilities.  As a Searcher, she can see the consequences of every choice she makes.  It’s the best way to avoid a social disaster…or, that’s what she thought before her parents announced their divorce.  Now Addie has a choice: live with her mother in the Compound where she can continue to use her powers or live among the “Norms” with dad.  Addie loves the Compound, so the answer should be easy, right?  A quick Search proves otherwise.  One future has her adjusting to life outside of the Compound as a new girl in high school where she meets Trevor, a sensitive artist who gets her.  In the other, Addie is being pursued by the hottest guy in school–but she never wanted to be a quarterback’s girlfriend.  When Addie’s dad is asked to help with a murder inside the Compound, Addie is pulled into a dangerous game that threatens everyone she holds dear.  Choosing which path she’ll take comes down to what she can’t live without…

Due to school work, it took me almost 3 days to get more than 30 pages into this book.  That is ridiculously slow for me.  And yes, school work was a large part of why it was so hard for me to get into it, but I also struggled with the beginning.  I was really confused about the Compound and what Addie’s powers actually could do.  On top of that, the narration between the two futures Addie’s looking at took a while for me to settle into it.  It just threw a lot at me, I guess, and when I had a lot of other things I needed to be doing, it was really easy to push this aside.

But once I really started getting into the story, it grabbed me.  I really liked Trevor and the chemistry between him and Addie was ace.  And it was interesting to see how the two future paths lined up.  Similar events took place in each one, which helped me keep the timeline straight.

Most of the characters were pretty interesting.  I respected Addie, even if I didn’t always like her.  She’s a bit indecisive, and it was sometimes hard to get a handle on her when you’re jumping between two different futures.  She acts a bit different in one than the other.  But I definitely like Trevor a lot.  That boy’s got it going on.

Was this my favorite read by Kasie West?  No.  That honor still belongs to On The Fence, easily.  But it was different and retained a lot of what I like about Kasie West’s writing.  And I will be reading the sequel soon, to see what happens.

Leave a Reply

