Ruins (Partials Sequence, #3)

9780062071101First Lines: “This is a general message to the residents of Long Island.”  The first time they heard the message, nobody recognized the voice.

I have such a hard time actually finishing off series, and I don’t know why.  I’m always reluctant to do it, even if it’s a series I’m not in love with.  But with this sitting on my shelf, I figured it was better to read it now before I forgot what happened in the other books.

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

Actually, this one is so complex (and vague) that I’m just going to copy it from Goodreads: Kira, Samm, and Marcus fight to prevent a final war between Partials and humans in the gripping final installment in the Partials Sequence, a series that combines the thrilling action of The Hunger Games with the provocative themes of Blade Runner and The Stand.

There is no avoiding it—the war to decide the fate of both humans and Partials is at hand. Both sides hold in their possession a weapon that could destroy the other, and Kira Walker has precious little time to prevent that from happening. She has one chance to save both species and the world with them, but it will only come at great personal cost.

So here’s what I liked about this one.  I liked that there was still a ton of action.  Loads of explosions, guns, secrets, and betrayals.  There was always something happening and rarely a dull moment.

The story is told through those constantly changing narrators again, shifting from everyone like Kira, Samm, Marcus, and Haru to Tovar and even a Partial we’ve never met before.  With everyone spread out across Long Island and beyond, this was basically the only way to get the whole story told.  (Though I will admit that certain chapters, like the ones told by that new Partial, were boring to me.)

But Kira really started to get on my nerves this time around.  Sure, in the other books she has something of a hero complex.  If someone’s got to do something dangerous, she’s going to do it to protect her friends and family.  I get it.  But by the time we get to the end of this book, she’s on a full-on martyr mission.  She is basically throwing herself in front of bullets just to say she’s protecting people.  To me, she’s lost her heroic edge when she starts doing this.  This comes off as desperate and even selfish because she absolutely will not allow anyone else to do the same thing she’s trying to do.  I still admire her strength and cleverness, but this hero complex just went too far.

And the ending was totally anti-climactic.  You know how usually when you get to the end of a book, you’re on the edge of your seat just waiting for the final twist?  I had about 0 pages of the book one night when I went to bed and absolutely no idea how the book would wrap up.  I really think it brings something to the book when you have an idea what’s going to happen in the final showdown.  Like Harry against Voldemort, we had been anticipating that for the entire book, if not the books prior to it.  We knew it was coming.  But to not even know who the villain would be to fight off in this finale?  It was weird and totally killed any suspense the ending would have had.

I really wish I had better things to say about this book, but it just wasn’t the same.  Even Samm, who I adore, felt different this time around.  He actually seemed kind of rude at times.  The only character who really stayed the same was Marcus, whose dry humor and amazing comic timing helped to keep the story light.

While it was good, I was expecting so much more from a series finale.

2 thoughts on “Ruins (Partials Sequence, #3)

  1. I couldn’t even finish Ruins. I got about half way I think, and just gave up. It was boring me, and a complete let down. I felt it was trying to be far more complex than it needed to be. :/

Leave a Reply

