Split Second (Pivot Point, #2)

splitsecondFirst Lines: My car sat on the far side of the parking lot, and I couldn’t get to it fast enough.

I’ve had this from the library for something like, oh, a month and a half.  I just never felt in the mood for it, you know?  I’m really struggling with getting into the mood for certain books lately.  I can’t tell if I’m reading too many of a certain genre or if my tastes are changing slightly.  Anyway, I decided to get this read.

*Potential Series Spoilers*

With all of the horrible things that have happened lately, Addie can’t believe that she chose this future when she looked ahead.  Why would she want to be betrayed by her best friend, used by her boyfriend, and devastated by her parents’ divorce?  And that’s not even the worst of it when her ability begins to change.  She’s always been able to Search the future when presented with a choice, but now she can slow down time…but not without pain.  When Addie’s dad invites her to Dallas for winter break, Addie jumps at the chance to get away.  It’s in Dallas that she meets the handsome and familiar Trevor.  When Trevor begins to notice strange things about Addie, his interest in her turns to suspicion, much to Addie’s dismay.  Meanwhile, Addie’s BFF Laila has the power to restore Addie’s memory…if only she learns how.  The only person who can help is the infuriating Connor, a bad boy who seems immune to her charms.  Both of them need to hurry because if they don’t, the future could be an awfully different place…

I can sum this book up in five words: a swing and a miss.

Look, I adore Kasie West’s contemporary romances.  They are charming and funny and heartfelt.  But this?  I just cannot get into it.  It has very little of the humor I’ve come to expect from West and–this book especially–lacks the heartfelt romance that I was hoping would be here.  What romance was present felt forced and fake.  Contrived.  Too much tell, not enough show.

The characters themselves aren’t bad.  I generally like Addie and Trevor and Laila.  (I say generally because there are times when they do start to bother me a bit.)  Connor’s actually probably the most interesting character, maybe because I didn’t meet him in the last book.

I think part of the problem might be the narration.  It bounces back and forth between Laila and Addie.  I had this problem with the last book too, when it just bounced between Addie’s two futures.  Something about it just feels disjointed, like I’m not getting the full story.

And the action felt like it was all loaded into the end of the story.  There wasn’t much at the beginning that really kept my attention.  There were some times I really felt like I didn’t know what was going on, so that’s never good.

I never felt like Laila’s plot was fully wrapped up.  I felt like I was missing so much about her life because, even though she tells half the story, it all still really focuses on Addie.  And all the stuff with Connor just felt lacking.  I wish there’d been more to it because that had been promising.

I think from now on, I’ll stick strictly to West’s contemporary romances.

Leave a Reply

